Cake Ball Truffles: Sweets For Your Sweetie

vanilla cake balls

What do you do with leftover cake?

I know… who has leftover cake? Does that exist? Let’s just pretend that it does. Willing suspension of disbelief, ok?

Because if you had leftover cake, you would just have to make these wonderful cake ball ‘truffles’.  And then you’d have to eat them all, because wasting food is bad. I suppose you could share them with your Valentine, but I wouldn’t.  I’d eat them myself.  But that is because my husband doesn’t like white chocolate – his loss!  More for me! In all seriousness, however, they do look very pretty packaged up in a little box, and they make a great homemade gift.

vanilla cake balls

As my cousin Ethan put it, his mouth half full of cake truffle, “Little Debbie should make these.”  I think it was a compliment.  He does like Little Debbie.  And these truffles are quite addictive.  They aren’t technically truffles, they are really just balls of cake and frosting covered in white chocolate.  But the surprising taste and texture makes for a double dessert experience in one bite.

Most often when I make cake ball truffles I do actually make and frost a cake.  We enjoy the cake for dessert one night, and the next day I smash it all up and roll it into balls for the truffle centers. You can certainly skip right to the truffle making, but do be sure to let the cake cool completely before mashing with the frosting. And if, like Jeff, you don’t enjoy white chocolate, just use milk or dark chocolate for dipping instead.

A word here about the cake and frosting: You can make your own from the recipes suggested below or you can choose to go with the boxed and canned variety. But if you decide to split the difference, do me a favor and make the frosting.  I have to admit a weakness for boxed cake mix.  My grandmother passed her fascination on to me.  But frosting in a can I can do without.  Although store-bought frosting would probably make them taste all that much more like Little Debbie!

valentines day cake balls

White Chocolate Vanilla Cake Ball Truffles

makes about 4 dozen

1 prepared recipe Basic Yellow Cake (I like this recipe from Martha Stewart)

1 prepared recipe Vanilla Frosting (again, a great basic recipe from Martha Stewart here)

36 ounces white chocolate (less if you have eaten some of the cake!)

colored sprinkles

Crumble the cake into a large bowl. Using a large fork, mash the frosting into the cake until well combines.  With your hands, roll the cake mixture into 1-inch balls.  Arrange the cake balls on a wax paper-lined baking sheet and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Melt the white chocolate in 20 second bursts in the microwave or gently in a double boiler. Stir until smooth.  Dip the cake balls in the chocolate, shake off the excess, and place on a clean piece of wax paper.  Top with sprinkles.  Let harden at room temperature.  Store in a cool place in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Published in: on February 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/cake-ball-truffles-sweets-for-your-sweetie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love cake balls! Your’s look amazing 🙂

  2. I see recipes for cake balls everywhere and I need to make them sometime!! Someone made us Oreo truffles (just like cake balls except with Oreos and cream cheese instead of cake and frosting) and they were AMAZING! Had to remove them from the house!!

    • Oooh, those oreo truffles sound great!

  3. wow … they look so pretty! My husband loves white chocolate, bet he will love those.

  4. My mother in law made a variety of these one year for Christmas. My favorite was the chocolate cake mixed with peanut butter, dipped in dark chocolate. So yummy!

    • Oh man… I have a peanut butter weakness, but I never thought of using it instead of the frosting here. I have to try that ASAP!

  5. I just love cake balls, and these ones are particularly pretty. What a wonderful Valentine’s Day treat.
    *kisses* HH

  6. I love how cuteyour cake balls look! What a great Valentines day treat!

    Have a great weekend.

  7. OOH…what a clever idea. I have never made these and never made truffles so I am in awe!

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  8. These look so appealing it would be impossible for anybody human to turn them down; I like that they are made from a real cake and not a box! (like the others I have seen!)

  9. Great idea, of course I’d have to have left over cake. My husband too doesn’t like white chocolate. It is nice that we love them anyway 🙂

  10. Hand up! I have leftover cake because I made a rather nasty dry coffee one and it will, within the day, be transformed into a butterfly. Or at least these truffles.

  11. They a so cute. The perfect treat for Valentines Day!

  12. This reminds me of Oreo truffles at Christmastime! What a great idea. Is it too late to make them??? Maybe I can still sneak them in sometime this week!

  13. I love these little balls. What a great idea. Believe it or not, we would have left-over cake because there are only two of us and we usually give away what’s left. Not any more thanks to you.

    Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s day.
    Sam

  14. These look so good. These would be great for any occasion. So glad I found your blog.

  15. I still have not gotten on the cake ball train, but I’ve been meaning to. This looks like a great recipe!

  16. I’ve been seeing cake balls and I need to find an excuse to make them! These look just wonderful–the perfect Valentine’s Day treat 🙂 I can’t agree with you more about the icing–I’m a complete frosting junkie…I love the stuff, but ONLY homemade! I guess I’m a bit of a frosting snob–the stuff in a can just doesn’t do it for me.

    Have a great weekend!

  17. These look so cute and yummy!

  18. […] Cake Ball Truffles are an awesome, super sweet and super easy to make dessert. You can use a variety of different cake flavors with these, and as the outside frosted coating you can also use candy melts of a variety of different flavors. For the ones I made, I was able to find orange colored vanilla melts and used chocolate sprinkles to give it a halloween/fall look. […]

  19. I really want some cake balls right now.

  20. […] Cake Ball Truffles […]


Leave a comment