Coconut Hot Cocoa

coconut milk hot chocolate

It’s official; I’m an old fogie.

I’d rather be curled up on the sofa with a mug of cocoa than partying it up at a bar.

When did that happen?  When did my PJs and a James Bond movie marathon become my idea of a perfect evening?

At some point along the way, a steamy mug of really great hot chocolate eclipsed tequila shots as my New Year’s Eve drink of choice.  And this coconut hot cocoa is about as great as cocoa gets.  It’s incredibly creamy and full of deep, rich chocolate flavor.  But best of all, it smells incredible. The combination of coconut and chocolate is addictive.  And it’s so easy to make!

You could certainly top this cocoa with a dollop of whipped cream or a few mini marshmallows.  But I’m a hot cocoa purist.  To me, whipped cream detracts from the chocolate, and elusive little marshmallows distract me from my chocolate desires. But I do advocate a splash of coconut rum here.  After all, it’s New Year’s Eve, and I’m not THAT old!

Happy New Year!

Coconut Hot Cocoa

Serves 2

1/2 cup low-fat milk

4 teaspoons sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 cup canned lite coconut milk

2 tablespoons coconut rum (optional)

In a small saucepan, wisk together the low-fat milk, sugar and cocoa powder over medium-low heat.  Once the sugar has dissolved, wisk in the coconut milk and heat, stirring, until hot but not boiling.  Add the rum, if using.  Pour into two mugs and enjoy. Great with ginger snap cookies!

Published in: on December 30, 2012 at 7:33 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/coconut-hot-cocoa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I recently discovered coconut peanut butter and am a woman obsessed. This sounds delicious!

  2. You sound just like me! 🙂 I love cozy evenings so much better than parties. 🙂 I wanted you to know that I made your snickerdoodles for my Aussie friends and they loved them!!

    • Thanks Krista! So glad your friens liked the snickerdoodle cookies!

  3. I’d take hot cocoa over crazy parties any day… Even New Years Eve!

  4. Hot chocolate laced with rum and James Bond! sounds like the perfect evening to me! Happy New Year!
    Mary x

  5. Looks so cozy and perfect. Have a happy New Year!

  6. It looks warming and delicious.
    Have a happy and blessed new year!

  7. That looks really wonderful right now! Happy New Year!

  8. Oh yeah – right there with you! In fact scoot over so I can share that cuppa with you. HAPPY NEW YEAR, dear! I hope 2013 brings you every happiness 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  9. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! Wonderful & tasty sounding!


Leave a Reply

