Rosh Hashanah Recipes

We went apple picking last weekend, and I had grand plans to make my Nannie’s Jewish apple cake to share with you.

But then my boss sent me to Florida.  Where it was hot and rainy and my hair frizzed (which probably shouldn’t have bothered me since I was wearing a hard hat the whole time, but I’m kind of vain about my hair, so it did). Not that you care about my hair.  You care about apple cake.  Which I didn’t make, because I was busy flying to and from Florida and attempting to tame my frizz.

I have faith that my aunt will be making Nannie’s apple cake on Monday, so don’t worry, I will not be apple cake deprived. But I still owe you all an apple cake, and I promise it will happen – eventually.  Trust me, Nannie’s apple cake is worth waiting for.  But in the meantime, Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) is upon us and we need to make some plans to stuff the bellies of our friends and families with apple and honey and challah and all sorts of other yummy treats.

So, below are some of my favorite Rosh Hashanah recipe ideas.  Happy New Year!

rosh hashanah apple chestnut savory tart

This Chestnut, Gorgonzola and Apple Tart makes a really beautiful side dish.

holiday noodle kugel

Noodle Kugel is, of course, a holiday tradition. And New England Noodle Kugel with drunken cranberries is even more awesome.

salad for rosh hashanah

This Fennel Apple Salad is a great Rosh Hashanah side, but also works as a quick lunch along with a big loaf of crusty bread.

apples and honey pancakes

These lovely Apples ‘N Honey Pancakes are a yummy Rosh Hashanah brunch.

Published in: on September 14, 2012 at 2:44 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/rosh-hashanah-recipes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like you had a delicious and fun week. The apple and blue cheese tart sounds really terrific.

  2. Happy Rosh Hashanah to you and what a great assortment of holiday dishes! Love especially these apple tarts at the bottom.

  3. Happy Rosh Hashanah to you and that chesnut apple tart has my name all over it – so do those incredible pancakes.

    Funny reading about your frizzy hair-weather-heat in Florida.

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  4. All these dishes look so good and appetizing. I am so thrilled to give any of these a try. Maybe I will go with the least difficult and I guess that would be the pancakes. I love pancakes for breakfast and I will surely like the twist of apples in it. Thank you for all these recipes.


Leave a Reply

