Fresh Cherry Pie Martini

martini with bing cherries

Has any one else noticed the explosion of flavored vodkas on the market?  Only a couple of years ago I thought myself pretty clever for making my own basil vodka and my own pomegranate vodka. But now, in any corner “Packy” (that’s what we New Englanders call a liquor store) you can find everything from cookie dough vodka to mango vodka.  But I have to say, my favorite find has been toasted marshmallow vodka.  It’s pretty fantastic with just a splash of root beer and certainly lovely in a chocolate martini.

Even better, though, it adds a special something to this cherry pie martini – something that turns cherries and alcohol and graham cracker crumbs into pie.

I have been all about fresh cherries this summer.  My lips may be permanently stained from eating them by the bucketful.  But sometimes a girl needs a bit of variety.  And I can’t actually take the credit here, since Jeff, witnessing my cherry obsession, came up with this lovely drink all on his own.  As a special treat for me.  How sweet is that?

Cherry Pie Martini

Makes 2 drinks

1/4 cup chopped fresh bing cherries

3 ounces toasted marshmallow vodka

1 ounce amaretto (or other almond flavored liqueur)

2 ounces unsweetened plain almond milk

ice

1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs

additional cherries for garnish (optional)

In a cocktail shaker, muddle the cherries, pressing with a spoon to squeeze as much juice as possible from the fruit.  Add the vodka, amaretto, and almond milk to the shaker, along with a large scoop of ice.  Shake vigorously.  Meanwhile, moisten the rims of two martini glasses.  Spread the graham cracker crumbs on a flat dish and dip the martini glass rims into the crumbs to coat.  Strain the martini into the glasses, adding a few ice cubes to the glass, if you like extra ice.  Garnish with a fresh cherry or two and enjoy.

Published in: on July 29, 2012 at 5:24 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/fresh-cherry-pie-martini/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Seriously considering making one of these right now.

  2. I am speechless! I had no idea there were that many varieties of vodka;; starting to think I am missing out! Love your recent creation, a girl definitely needs her OWN pink drink!!

  3. Really delightful!

  4. You just put a big goofy smile on my face. Sip smile, sip, smile….I see that :))

    chow:) Devaki @ weavethousandflavors


Leave a Reply

