Greece

Greece beach sea view Lagnissi

Coming home is always nice.  No matter how long I have been away or where I have travelled, I love the moment of walking in the front door. But the bliss only lasts a moment before it all hits me.  The piles of unread mail, the suitcases full of dirty laundry, the dozens of unanswered voice messages.  And suddenly I want to run right back out that front door, hop back on the plane and find myself on a sunny Cretan beach.

Sadly, I’m here with my piles of laundry, already missing the Koulouria (sesame bread rings), mizythra (fresh Cretan goat cheese) and frappes (foamy iced coffee). But our trip to Greece was fantastic.  I can’t thank the people at FAGE USA enough for the adventures of the past week, especially for the tour of the FAGE factory in Athens.

Fage Greek Yogurt

While I can’t share all of the secrets of the FAGE yogurt-making process, I can tell you that it’s quite an amazing operation.  Did you know that it takes four litres of milk to make just one litre of FAGE Total yogurt? You never know when that random bit of knowledge might come up at trivia night! And I’ll share one other little tidbit: have you ever noticed faint bumps on the top of your FAGE Total yogurt?  Ever wondered what those bumps might be?  The folks at FAGE call them “the daisy” and they are imprints of the shape of the super high-tech device that pumps the yogurt into the waiting cups.  The end of the pump is shaped like a flower, and if you look closely at your next cup of FAGE Total, you might just notice the bumps in the shape of a daisy.

I’m off to do laundry, but I will be back soon with recipes from Greece.  In the meantime, I will continue to be thankful to the folks at FAGE for the memories of the past week, and for the fact that, of all the foods I miss from my time in Greece,  rich and creamy Greek yogurt doesn’t have to be one of them.

Sea Crete Greece

Published in: on June 3, 2012 at 2:43 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/greece/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have fun with doing laundry 😉 and I look forward to your recipes from Greece.

    Angie

  2. Ohhh wish I was there!! gorgeous photos and so looking forward to seeing more
    Mary x

  3. So glad you had a great time and you look so happy! Looking forward to more info and recipes!

  4. Sigh, how I love those beautiful shots of Greece. 🙂 I love it there so much and am thrilled that you got to go. 🙂

  5. How wonderful – Can’t wait for all the details!

    chow 🙂 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  6. Lovely shots! Greece must be such a beautiful place.


Leave a Reply

