Easy Dark Chocolate Fudge

Why do people say “easy as pie”?  Anyone who has ever made a pie knows that this is a truly silly statement.  Pie crust is finicky. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy the challenge – I like making pie.  But I wouldn’t call it “easy”.  That’s kind of like saying “easy as yoga”.  There is nothing easy about crow pose.

What people should say is “easy as fudge”.

I always assumed that making fudge had to be a scary, messy process involving candy thermometers and cooling tables. No one told me that four simple ingredients, and about five minutes of effort, could yield delightfully smooth, rich fudge.  No one, that is, until my mother-in-law.  She makes mountains of this stuff every year at the holidays (I think that Jeff annually consumes at least three or four pounds of fudge between Christmas and New Years).  It makes a wonderful holiday gift for anyone from your hairdresser to your great-aunt. 

candy dish fudgeSo even though the holidays are long gone, when I was wracking my brain for a homemade housewarming treat to cart down to Texas with me, fudge seemed like the perfect choice.  Packed in a little tin, it travels amazingly well.  And my chocoholic friend Katie will adore the deep, rich flavor of this intense, dark chocolate fudge.  Yes, her name is Katie too.  And we both love chocolate.  We’re a match made in heaven.

So, Katie, if you’re reading this, I guess I spoiled the chocolatey surprise.  You’re getting a tin of fudge when you pick me up at the airport tomorrow.  I promise you’ll enjoy it even more after a whole night of chocolate anticipation.

Now, you probably already knew all about the wonders of quick and easy fudge.  But if, like me, you have been in the dark all these years, let me just point out that this is really a base recipe.  You can add nuts, dried fruit, or even chopped up candy (think peppermint patties, milky way bars, etc) at the last minute before spreading in the pan.  I quite like this plain old dark chocolate version, though.  I’ve always liked basic chocolate fudge best.  When I was 13 years old my friend Laura and I took the ferry over to Block Island for the day – all by ourselves.  And because we had no parents to watch our every move, we bought and ate two pounds of chocolate fudge; one for breakfast and one for dinner.  You might think after that day I would detest chocolate fudge, but you’d be wrong.

Kim’s Easy Chocolate Fudge

1 pound good quality dark chocolate, chopped

1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

a pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Line an 8×8 inch baking pan with foil.  Generously grease the foil and set the pan aside. In a sauce pan over low heat, melt the chocolate, stirring constantly to avoid burning the chocolate (you can do this over a double boiler if you want, but it’s not necessary, as long as you are very careful).  As soon as the chocolate melts completely, add the condensed milk and the saltand continue stirring quickly to combine.  Cook, stirring, about 1 minute more. Remove from the heat, and stir in the vanilla.  Spread the fudge mixture into the prepared pan.  Take your time smoothing the top of the fudge.  Refrigerate until fully set, at least a few hours, but longer is better. Remove the fudge from the pan, peeling away the foil.  Cut into pieces (any size you like) and serve. Keeps refrigerated in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

Published in: on March 1, 2012 at 5:36 pm  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/easy-dark-chocolate-fudge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh goodness! This looks like another recipe that can turn into addiction! Thank you for sharing!

  2. wow i am loving your blog 🙂

    i remember when i was younger i made some fudge – being the impatient little girl that i was (and still am!) i did not leave it in the fridge to set for long enough and kept opening the fridge to check it.. haha i ended up throwing it away because it never set! id love to try this out though im not a “fudge” fan but i do adore my dark chocolates

  3. When I was a kid, I used to love chocolate fudge too. Partly because it was so good, and partly because it was so easy to make! I haven’t made it in a while, but my girls enjoy making it now.

  4. Oh yumm they look amazing! I always face difficulties when working with chocolates, but I cant wait to try your recipe! thx for sharing. =)

  5. You are totally right! Fudge is so simple and tastes so much better than the super sugar filled version you find at the store. As much as I hate to admit this my mother does a version in the microwave during the holidays! Throws it all in an 8 cup Pyrex and stirs it once heated. She has a whole posse of people who request it!!! Simple and delish. Thanks for the post!

  6. Just four ingredients? Who knew? Looks divine.

  7. thanks for stopping by my blog and introducing me to yours – i just love your concept of recipes as heirlooms, they truly are one of the best! and with me not eating sugar during lent, you can imagine me drooling over this fudge (and adding it to my ‘make for easter’ list!).

  8. That does sound easy! Love that clean cut of the fudge and can only imagine the rich creamy taste!

  9. Super delicious!! a wonderful treat!
    Mary x

  10. Oh yum! They look delectable! 🙂

  11. This is going to be my new favorite fudge recipe and I’m making it as soon as I get back home from my travels next week! Can hardly wait!!

  12. It’s definitely true that pie is ANYTHING but easy. But this being SO easy…also makes it super dangerous! In a delicious way.

  13. I love dark chocolate…have a small piece each night. This is so tempting and it’s in the middle of the day.

  14. It looks rich and amazing! I want to run and make some fudge right now.

  15. I’m not a big sweet eater, but I have to say I have a soft spot for fudge. I know what you mean – pie making is anything but easy, especially for me.

  16. Best fudge ever. It was delicious! Thanks for thinking of us. We had so much fun with y’all this weekend. Will be looking forward to our next adventure whatever it may be!

  17. That is easy! And so few ingredients, the best kind of recipes!

  18. This is just too easy to fix and bound to become a life long addiction!! 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    PS – Chuckles to hear about your’s & Katie’s love affair with chocolate

  19. Oh bless you for this! I’ve been craving fudge for weeks now and just didn’t have the heart to go into all the nitty-gritty of a difficult recipe. You’ve just solved my dilemma. 🙂

  20. That is so funny, I was just trying to explain to one of my students why we say “easy as pie” and I couldn’t come up with anything! Maybe I’ll introduce “easy as fudge” into their vocabulary. Your fudge sure looks beautiful!


Leave a Reply

