Breakfast Tostada

breakfast taco

What do you eat when you’re dining alone?

For me, it’s eggs.  It’s always eggs. 

Maybe it’s simply because Jeff hates eggs. I know – who doesn’t like eggs?  My husband, that’s who.  Omelets, scrambles, benedicts, quiches… all out of the question. So we don’t eat eggs together.  But when he’s working late, out of town, or just not hungry, I never think twice. It’s always eggs.

Or maybe it’s because there are a million ways to cook eggs, almost all of them quick, easy, healthy and perfect for solo meals. When I’m cooking for myself, I don’t usually like to fuss too much in the kitchen.  But that doesn’t mean I always want to order pizza or eat a bowl of Cheerios.  Although, sometimes nothing beats a bowl of Cheerios…

This breakfast tostada is great in the morning as a quick, healthy weekday treat for yourself.  But the recipe doubles, triples, or quadruples really easily, too, and makes a nice brunch with friends.  I like to use corn tortillas, since they toast up with the best texture.  I’m a big fan of chipotle salsa here, but use whatever you like most.  I think a good tomatillo salsa would be yummy.  But if you have some homemade salsa in the fridge, by all means, use it!  This recipe is really more of a suggestion, so play around with toppings.  You could add some refried beans or black beans.  Or maybe sprinkle on a few corn kernels or a squeeze of lime.  Perhaps go for some shredded cabbage instead of lettuce, for extra crunch. You could sub in turkey sausage or even vegan sausage for the chorizo, or use up some leftover shredded chicken breast.  You get the idea.

egg tostada

Breakfast Tostada

Makes 1 tostada

1 corn tortilla

1 teaspoon butter

1 egg

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons salsa

2 tablespoons cooked crumbled chorizo

2 tablespoons shredded lettuce

1 tablespoon sour cream

1 radish, thinly sliced

1 teaspoon chopped fresh cilantro

Toast the corn tortilla in the oven or toaster oven until mostly crisp, but not too browned.  Meanwhile, heat the butter in a skillet and fry the egg to your desired doneness.  I like over-medium, but cook to your preference.  Sprinkle the egg with salt and remove from the heat. Spread the salsa on the tortilla.  Top with the egg, the chorizo, the lettuce, the sour cream, the radish, and the cilantro.  Enjoy with a couple of napkins!

Published in: on February 25, 2012 at 3:10 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/02/25/breakfast-tostada/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love eggs whether I’m by myself or cooking for a crowd. 🙂 They’re perfect for any meal, and this tostada looks delicious!

  2. Oh I would love this but for lunch! Can’t do eggs for breakfast! Wish I could find good tortillas here!

  3. Oh my gosh – that has to make it tough to have a hubby who doesn’t like eggs. I’m having a hard time myself because I’ve been told to stay away from them, so I’m really missing wonderful breakfast dishes like this one. I still make them for my husband, so at least I can still have the fun of cooking them.

  4. Oh, that’s really difficult. Fancy not liking eggs! There are so many recipes that use eggs! I guess lucky for you that he goes away from time to time so you can enjoy dishes like this. What a great start to the day. That just looks amazing.

  5. I don’t eat eggs for the breakfast very often, but I would love to try this….it sure looks tasty and nutritious.

  6. My kids love chorizo…this would be a bit hit around here 🙂

  7. Love eggs any way, any time. You certainly eat well when you’re alone. I tend to snack or eat a chicken sandwich. I know I should treat myself better…….
    Sam

  8. I think this is a great dish for any meal. There is a little bit of everything plus it’s packed with flavor.


Leave a Reply

