Not Just For Thanksgiving: Pumpkin Feta Tart

french pumpkin tart with feta cheese

February is my least favorite month for cooking.  Oh sure, there is plenty of chocolate for Valentine’s Day, and little else to do besides putter in the kitchen all month.  Even so, every year, right about the middle of February, I lose steam.  With minimal produce for inspiration, and the holiday festivities a faded memory, I cave to take-out and frozen pizza more often than I’d like to admit. 

Do the winter blues hit you too?

As I sit here wishing for spring, planning my vegetable garden and dreaming of tiny strawberries, I’m attempting to jump start spring with a round of spring cleaning.  Today we tackled the basement and the kitchen cabinets.  And do you know what I found lurking at the back of my pantry?  A can of pumpkin.  It may not be a farmer’s market basket, but this vitamin-filled little can really jazzed up our quick winter supper.

You already know about my love of pumpkin.  Layered in a yogurt parfait, swirled into oatmeal, stuffed in ravioli, or baked in a cupcake, you really can’t go wrong with canned pumpkin. The slightly sweet earthy pumpkin works wonderfully with the salty tang of the feta and the nutty flavor of the swiss chard in this simple tart. A sliver of this tart would probably be a very nice appetizer for a fancy dinner party, but a big wedge also works well as a main course served with a big arugula salad dressed in good olive oil and lemon juice.

I like this Easy Olive Oil Tart Crust recipe from the wonderful Chocolate & Zucchini but you can use any tart crust you like.  You could even use refrigerated pie crust dough here and I’m sure the tart would still turn out wonderfully.  I do think that a good tart pan, with a removable bottom, is pretty important, though.  Before investing in a tart pan (really, not a very big expenditure) I made many mediocre tarts in a pie plate.  The too-deep, flat sides of the pie dish result in a soggy crust, and an unpleasant filling-to-crust ratio.  If you don’t have a tart pan, you might be better off making a rustic crostada – just roll out the dough on a baking sheet, spread the filling in the middle, leaving a two-inch border.  Fold the crust edges into the middle, brush with a bit of oil, and bake until golden.

Pumpkin Feta Tart

Serves 6 (as a main course)

1 recipe of tart crust dough 

3/4 cup thinly sliced onion

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 cups thinly sliced fresh swiss chard

salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary

2 cups canned pumpkin

2 eggs, beaten

3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Carefully press the crust into a 12-inch tart pan with a removable bottom.  Refrigerate the crust while you prepare the filling.  Saute the onion in oil over medium heat until soft and just beginning to darken. Add in the swiss chard and cook 1 minute more. Season liberally with salt and pepper and stir in the rosemary.  Remove from the heat.  In a medium sized bowl, stir the pumpkin and the eggs well to combine.  Season with salt and pepper.  Remove the crust from the refrigerator.  Spread the pumpkin mixture evenly in the crust.  Sprinkle the swiss chard mixture evenly over the pumpkin mixture and top with the feta cheese. Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Serve warm or room temperature.

Published in: on February 18, 2012 at 8:16 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/not-just-for-thanksgiving-pumpkin-feta-tart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Aw this looks lovely- pumpkin, feta and swiss chard makes a great combination.
    It is def getting to that time of year where the farmer’s market table is looking pretty bare, roll on spring!

  2. We routinely have chard, pumpkin from the garden, and of couse feta and I never thought of combining them in a tart! (plus the olive oil in the crust is a swell idea!). Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. I wish I could find some pumpkins at this time of year….this looks so very tempting!

  4. That is gorgeous – I can’t think of anything better than pumpkin and feta hand in hand. The olive oil crust sounds pretty darn good too 🙂

    chow 🙂 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  5. I had some pumpkin plants, I would like to make this tart when I get the harvest. Hopefully, I don’t have to wait too long!

  6. What a gorgeous and unusual tart, Katie! I’ve never heard of such a thing but now I want to taste it. 🙂 Yes, I do get the blahs now and then. I’m just easing out of a slump myself. 🙂

  7. What a pretty tart. Pumpkin is perfect for any time and shouldn’t just be saved for Thanksgiving.

    I don’t get the winter blahs anymore now that we come south and the weather is warm during the winter. In the mountains I certainly did get it with all of the cold and rain (occasional snow). Sometimes it’s not easy to shake off. I miss the sunshine and nothing takes it’s place. An awful situation to be in. I’m lucky we’re retired. It will soon be spring and those blahs will be behind you.
    Sam

  8. Mmmm…I could totally go for a slice of this tart. Such bold, comforting flavors!

  9. Interesting combination! I don’t think I would have ever thought to put pumpkin in a savoury dish until reading this (it’s one of my favourites, too). Definitely hear you on the winter blues, I had them really bad just a couple of weeks ago. Here’s to hoping spring comes, soon! 🙂

  10. I need this tart in my life as I am so in LOVE with everything pumpkin!

  11. I like savory tarts very much, and feta on everything!

  12. I love pumpkin and your blog! I have given you the Liebster award, please come check it out here:

    http://whataboutthepie.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/crepes-and-ano…huge-thank-you/


Leave a Reply

