Spiked Raspberry Chocolate Milkshake Shots

raspberry chocolate milkshake shots

I’d venture a guess that television sales soar on the day before the Superbowl.  This year, we did our part to propel retail sales, and this afternoon, our new 42 inch flat screen was erected in its place of honor in the living room.  With friends coming over, the Patriots playing, and a fancy new tv to boot, I figured I had better step up my game in the kitchen this year.

I adore football food.  We’ve covered my obsession with Superbowl snacks before.  Last year, I made four varieties of gourmet pigs in a blanket and mac ‘n beer cheese soup. But this year I decided to go old school with BBQ turkey burger sliders and sweet potato fries.  Simple, crowd pleasing snacks – but missing something.  A sweet, creamy something.

We have a number of new, trendy burger joints in town.  I adore each and every one.  Juicy burgers, crispy french fries, and sweet, creamy milkshakes.  My favorite local burger spot has started making spiked milkshakes, and they are fantastic.  It didn’t take long for us to realize that we could make our own spiked milkshakes at home.  Of course, for Superbowl Sunday I like everything to be finger food, bite sized and easy to grab from the coffee table.  Which, for milkshakes, translates to spiked shake shots. 

Nothing could be easier – just whir ice cream, milk, liqueurs, and chocolate sauce in the blender and pour into cute shot glasses.  Add a straw (bottom cut off), and a little fruit for garnish, if you like.  These raspberry chocolate shake shots are my favorite, but you could do almost any flavor.  An orange creamsicle shake, made with Grand Marnier, would be lovely.  I dream of a caramel apple shake made with dulce de leche ice cream, apple liqueur and a drizzle of caramel sauce. And we’ve enjoyed a wonderful mocha shake with Kahlua and Godiva liqueur.  The possibilities are endless.

Enjoy the big game!

Spiked Raspberry Chocolate Milkshake Shots

Makes about 8 shots

1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

1/2 cup milk

1 ounce Chambord (or other raspberry liqueur)

1/2 ounce Godiva chocolate liqueur (or other chocolate liqueur)

1 tablespoon chocolate syrup

frozen raspberries, for garnish

In a blander, combine all ingredients except the raspberries.  Whir until smooth and spoon carefully into shot glasses.  Garnish with raspberries and serve with straws with the bottoms cut short.

Published in: on February 4, 2012 at 7:38 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/spiked-raspberry-chocolate-milkshake-shots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This recipe looks delicious. I think’ll I try it with a stronger spike. Thanks! -Chris

  2. I would love one now! Looks good.

  3. These have to taste wonderful! They sure are pretty to look at too.

  4. These look so good! My daughter’s hosting a jewelry party in a few weeks. I think I’ll make them for the guests!

  5. These look fab. Im on the other side of the atlantic and it’s mighty cold here. I’ve just spent the weekend up in the highlands of Scotland where we had baileys spiked hot chocolate with marshmallows on a hen weekend.Yummy.

  6. Oh boy do those ever look marvelous! I’ve been on a serious smoothie kick lately and I love how you’ve made these “grown-up” with the Chambord. 🙂

  7. What a perfect way to kick off Valentine’s day Katie 🙂

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY TO YOU & YOURS 🙂

    chow 🙂 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  8. These are just fantastic!
    Happy Valentines Day!

  9. Oh my goodness, chambord, chocolate, ice cream and raspberries… you’ve somehow combined four of my favourite things in one adorable concoction! My hero!!


Leave a Reply

