Maple Cheesecake

cheesecake

Most people would probably disagree, but I think the best part of cheesecake is the crust.  I love that graham cracker crumbly deliciousness. The cheesecake part of cheesecake is growing on me, but for many years I considered it an over-rated dessert.  Somewhat plain, not quite worth the calories. And frankly, plain old New York cheesecake still doesn’t do much for me.

But smooth, sweet silky maple cheesecake is a whole different story. 

Maple syrup screams holiday season to me, and it makes everything feel more festive.  We devoured this whole cake at Thanksgiving (which means I still have a ton of leftover pumpkin pie – anyone have any fun ideas for what to do with half a leftover pie?) and I plan to make it again for Christmas.  With a subtle maple syrup flavor in the cake, and a more intense punch of maple syrup in the crust, this cake blew away the rest of our dessert spread. It’s smoother than a traditional New York cheesecake, a truly decadent texture. And you know what?  You don’t really have to wait for a holiday to make this cheesecake.  There is nothing wrong with cheesecake on a Tuesday.

Maple Cheesecake

Serves 10-12

1/2 cup toasted walnuts

3  cups graham cracker crumbs

1 stick (1/2 cup) melted butter

1 1/2 cups maple syrup, divided

24 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup sour cream

4 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Candied Cranberries for garnish (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a food processor, grind the nuts until well chopped, but not a paste. In a medium bowl, mix together the graham cracker crumbs, nuts, melted butter, and half a cup of maple syrup.  Press the mixture evenly into a 10-inch springform pan and wrap the bottom of the pan with two layers of foil to prevent leaks.

Beat the cream cheese until fluffy.  Add the sour cream and beat until incorporated. Add the eggs one at a time and then the vanilla and beat well, scraping down the edges of the bowl. Fold in the remaining cup of maple syrup. Carefully pour the cream cheese mixture into the crust. Bake for 60-70 minutes until golden on top.  The cake will not be set, but will set as it cools.  Chill the cake overnight before unmolding and serving.  Top with a handful of candied cranberries, if desired.

Published in: on November 27, 2011 at 8:11 pm  Comments (17)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/maple-cheesecake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t think I have ever tasted maple cheesecake but it is so tempting, plus I love maple syrup! Your cake looks perfect as a treat for the holidays!

  2. The cheesecake looks luscious and simply delectable!

  3. Super excited to make this for Christmas. My husband used to make his own maple syrup growing up and we still have a stash of it in our pantry. This cheesecake will definitely be worth using it on.

  4. That looks wonderful, enough to tempt a brit into making a cheesecake…

  5. I can already tell I’m going to have a long-term love-hate relationship with this recipe.

    Cheesecakes, sashimi, and pasta are my top three food must-haves.

  6. I have a real weakness for anything maple – this looks divine. And there’s definitely nothing wrong with cheesecake on a Tuesday!

  7. Unless the cheesecake is flavored with something fun…like this one is…I could totally take it or leave it. And by leave it I mean…leave me a piece of hte crust and no one will get hurt! But the maple? That just sounds fabulous.

  8. Oh gosh, that is a super model of a cheesecake, it looks amazing! I so want to come over and share it 😀
    *kisses* HH

  9. A maple cheesecake, wow I love this so different from the usual chocolate or strawberry!!

  10. Oooh, the addition of maple to cheesecake sounds amazing!

  11. WOW. how delicious!
    Belle

  12. This is some cheesecake darling – the flavors are superb and seasonal. Also the candies cranberries on top are darling 🙂 I ADMIRE your PURRFECT crust!!!

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  13. wow that is a great looking cheesecake

  14. This sounds so wonderful. I love the sound of all of these flavors together and am excited to try this cheesecake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  15. This cheesecake is beautiful! Mine have always come out uneven and cracked 😦 What’s the secret?

  16. This looks absolutely divine! I love maple, but pairing it with cheesecake makes the flavor even better!

  17. This looks great! I’m going to make it tonight for my work’s holiday party!


Leave a Reply

