Thanksgiving Sides to Savor

Can I tell you a little secret? 

I don’t really like traditional Thanksgiving sides. 

Actually, it’s not that I don’t like them, it’s just that I don’t love them.  And I want to love them. I feel like I’m supposed to swoon over mashed potatoes, but I find most versions kind of boring.  And stuffing? Um, it’s mushy bread. 

But I do love Thanksgiving. I love curling up on the couch with a big mug of coffee to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  I love spending the afternoon in the kitchen with my family.  I love lingering around the table. And Thanksgiving isn’t really about the turkey anyway, it’s about family and friends.  I know I’ve harped a lot lately on the concept of good living, but I promise this is the last time.

There’s a moment, after the pumpkin pie, when the whole family is full and happy and laughing. To me, that moment is truly the height of good living. As I mentioned before, the folks at Fage (makers of yummy Greek yogurt)  have asked a few of us food bloggers to weigh in on what makes for good living.  And while I’d gladly trade lumpy mashed potatoes and chilly New England weather for crispy spanakopita and Mediterranean sunshine, we can live the good life right here in Connecticut too. Whether corn bread stuffing makes you drool or not, be sure to savor all of the good moments this week!

And should you like some inspiration for deviating from the usual green bean casserole and sweet potato casserole, one of the following recipes might make a fun addition to your Thanksgiving line up.

noodle kugel

New England Noodle Kugel

 

sweet potato

Sweet Potato and Gorgonzola Gnocchi

 

barley side dish

Roasted Onion Barley Risotto

 

chestnut apple tart

Chestnut, Gorgonzola and Apple Tart

 

As part of the Foodbuzz Featured Publisher program, I have been entered for the chance to win a trip to Greece courtesy of FAGE. You too can enter to win one of three trips to Greece by entering the FAGE Plain Extraordinary Greek Getaway here: http://www.fageusa.com/community/fage-greek-getaway

Published in: on November 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/thanksgiving-sides-to-savor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am right there with you on thinking the traditional sides are pretty boring. The whole traditional meal actually. I like the appetizers and salads. 🙂

  2. I love adding new dishes to the holiday table…these look great 🙂

  3. Wow – what an array of interesting sides. The noodle kugel grabs my attention as it’s a dish I’ve never had. Looks like your tastebuds are in for a Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  4. I’m totally with you. I love the FLAVORS of Thanksgiving, but not necessarily the traditional dishes. I’d take your options any day!

  5. I do happen to love Thanksgiving sides…it’s like an experiment in flavors every year! I do like switching them up and bringing a different version to the table every year, though! I still have to find a stuffing that I love, though. These are some great options/additions!

  6. I love Thanksgiving sides but mine are not the usual either and that’s why I love them so much. I have a recipe for onion kugel that I love and your Nannas’ recipe with the addition of the fruit sounds wonderful!


Leave a Reply

