Pumpkin Yogurt Breakfast Parfait

breakfast parfait

Labor Day is behind us, which means no more white pants, but lots more pumpkin goodness. 

I love this time of year.  Sweet corn and heirloom tomatoes are still abundant, but the homey scents of winter squash and cinnamon fill the kitchen.  And let’s be honest, white pants are totally still in the wardrobe! But so are lightweight sweaters and corduroy pants. 

I’m not quite ready to dive into a from-scratch pumpkin pie, but breakfast is a great way to ease into the season.  Pumpkin also happens to be super healthy, although most pumpkin-laced treats are filled with enough lovely butter and sugar to mask all those vitamins and fiber. But this not-too-sweet breakfast is decadent and beautiful despite the lack of butter.  And the best part is that is takes just five minutes – yes, five minutes!  Which means that even weekday breakfasts can be exciting, healthy, and pumpkin-filled.

Pumpkin Yogurt Breakfast Parfait

Serves 2

12 oz plain low fat Greek yogurt

1/2 cup canned pureed pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling!)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

pinch of allspice

2 tablespoons honey

4 tablespoons chopped toasted walnuts, plus extra for garnish

4 tablespoons sweetened dried cranberries

In a small bowl, combine half of the yogurt with the pumpkin, cinnamon, allspice and  honey. Spoon a dollop of pumpkin yogurt into each of two glasses.  Top with a sprinkle of walnuts and dried cranberries.  Top with the plain yogurt, then the remaining walnuts and cranberries, and the remaining pumpkin yogurt. Garnish with additional walnuts if desired.

Published in: on September 5, 2011 at 6:29 pm  Comments (24)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/pumpkin-yogurt-breakfast-parfait/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks heavenly! Great way to usher in fall…thanks for sharing!

  2. Beautiful parfait and perfect for the season ahead.

  3. Tomorrow starts the beginning of pumpkin spice lattes, only appropriate that we start digging out our pumpkin recipes, I love this one! I have a GREAT pumpkin cookie recipe that I will be sharing soon as well 🙂 Love the blog!

  4. Delicious! I have a lot of squash staring at me now on my cupboard and this would be a great dish for one of them!

  5. Looks great! What a treat for breakfast. It would be perfect for fall.

  6. Something different, sweet and delicious for the breakfast!

  7. This instantly made me smile!! I’m excited to begin all the fall dishes, especially anything containing pumpkin!! I have mixed pumpkin into my yogurt and you just brought it back to me!! I’d even serve it for a dessert!! Beautiful photo!

  8. I love pumpkin and am starting to get into the ‘fall’ mood. This sounds wonderfully delicious!

  9. Pumpkin recipes definitely ease the transition to fall and make it easier to say good-bye to summer. I love this parfait you created!

  10. YUM- the flavor hear looks outstanding. Thanks for posting!

  11. Katie, This sounds wonderful! And so easy to make. I’ll definitely be trying this one out soon.

  12. If it’s Autumn there it must be Spring here, yay! Pumpkin parfait sounds amazing – I’ve never used pumpkin for anything sweet, only soup and roasted.

  13. I’m SO trying this!! I’m not pumpkin obsessed, but I definitely enjoy. 🙂

  14. Wow! This looks fabulous! I haven’t had my breakfast yet and I wish this parfait could be it!!

  15. This sounds so good! How many points is it?

  16. Oh pumpkin, how I’ve missed you so! This is exactly how I want to start my day.

  17. YAY for pumpkin!! 🙂 What a perfect fall morning breakfast. 🙂

  18. What??? No more white pants? Whatever will I do with my fave capris? 🙂 jUST KIDDING!

    What I have no business kidding about is just how good your pumpkin breakfast treat looks. Fantastic!

    chow 🙂 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. Waw! What a tasty alternative pumpkin dish! Looks wonderful!
    MMMMMMMMMMM,…..
    You have a cool foodblog!

    Many greetings from Brussels, Belgium!

  20. I love all things pumpkin and fall, since my arrival to the United States at the age of 10, from Iran. I am really glad to have found your blog. I eat yogurt everyday with all kinds of things but this recipe was a first for me. It’s so tasty, fresh, and fast!! Thanks for sharing it.

  21. I never thought of mixing the canned pumpkin into my morning yogurt! This is a revelation. Thanks for sharing!

  22. […] -My Pumpkin Yogurt Breakfast Parfait  […]

  23. […] already know about my love of pumpkin.  Layered in a yogurt parfait, swirled into oatmeal, stuffed in ravioli, or baked in a cupcake, you really can’t go wrong […]

  24. […] Pumpkin Yogurt Breakfast Parfait […]


Leave a Reply

