A Simple Egg: My Favorite Lunch

chickens peck the ground

Thanks to all of this never-ending rain, New England has burst forth with dozens of shades of green. We spent last weekend in Vermont, puttering around dusty antique shops, wandering through grassy fields, and enjoying the emerald scenery.

Vermont Green Mountains

All of that pure, clean air and quiet stillness makes the simplest food taste spectacular.  Chocolate chip cookies are even more buttery, more crumbly, more salty-sweet. Farm fresh eggs taste sunny and rich.  And homemade bread that is grainy and dense sops up the yolk.  Everything tastes better on a farm. 

farm view

But even at home, eggs are my favorite indulgence and my go-to food when I’m eating alone.  Simply served with buttery toast points, there is nothing better than a fresh egg.  And with pretty green spears of asparagus overflowing from the market, my favorite spring lunch has become prosciutto wrapped asparagus twirled in a soft-boiled egg.

limoges egg cupThis isn’t so much a recipe as a suggestion, so use your imagination.  I happen to adore the earthy woodiness of wonderful, thick spears, but if you’re a fan of pencil-thin asparagus, certainly use those!  In fact, lovely mellow white asparagus would be wonderful here as well.  And if you don’t have prosciutto on hand, paper-thin slices of Italian soppressata would be a nice, spicy touch. 

hill farm inn VT

Soft Boiled Eggs With Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

Serves 2

1 bunch asparagus, trimmed (about 18 spears)

4 large eggs

2 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto

salt and freshly cracked black pepper

In a shallow pan, bring a few inches  of water to a simmer.  Add the asparagus and blanch for just two minutes. Drain the asparagus and plunge them in a bowl of ice water.

Meanwhile, in a saucepan, bring a few cups of water to a boil (enough to cover the eggs).  Reduce the heat to medium and carefully add the four eggs.  Boil for four minutes, then drain (if you like your eggs a bit less runny, or are worried about undercooked eggs, boil for five minutes).

Slice the prosciutto into strips.  Wrap the prosciutto strips around the asparagus. 

Serve two eggs per person.  Place the eggs in egg cups, carefully crack the tops off the eggs, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and serve with the prosciutto wrapped spears for dipping into the runny egg.

*We stayed at the wonderful Hill Farm Inn in Arlington, VT.  Head up there for beautiful scenery, adorable farm animals, and a fantastic country breakfast!

Published in: on May 24, 2011 at 7:28 pm  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/a-simple-egg-my-favorite-lunch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First of all, your photos and this post are just wonderful. I’ve never been to Vermont and have just decided that as soon as our busy summer is over, I’m going to talk my husband into a trip out your way. I think fall must be stunning in Vermont.

    Secondly, this is a terrific suggestion/recipe. I love eggs and the asparagus and prosciutto combo sounds like an excellent side. I followed your link from Twitter, by the way.

    • So glad you stopped by my blog! Yes, Vermont in the fall is just amazing! So many colors!

  2. Beautiful scenery! Such a pretty egg cup. Haven’t had soft boiled in ages, would love to try again, looks delicious.

  3. I would love to spend a few days in a farm! Fresh air and great food…life couldn’t be better.
    My husband loves soft-boiled eggs…sadly that he doesn’t eat asparagus.

  4. Such beautiful photos!

    I could have that meal any time of the day… it’s delicious!!

  5. Love the photos! New season asparagus with soft boiled eggs is definitely an unbeatable combination!

  6. Totally my kind of meal! I would probably eat eggs everyday if I ate breakfast or lunch at home!

  7. I adore this kind of meal. I think you just added some items to my grocery list for next week. 🙂

  8. I totally agree with your love of the humble egg. Runny boiled egg on buttered toast is possibly my favourite breakfast, made better my a cup of tea. Lovely post and photos.

  9. Your photos are awesome and they make us feel we are there too!

  10. Amazing photo’s Katie! Hey – do you have your gorgeous wood stove hooked up yet?

  11. I agree with you, eggs are a wonderful combination with asparagus, and an inexpensive source of protein. I buy the cage free eggs at our local store. They are a bit more expensive, but when you make a meal from them, they are cheaper than meat.

  12. A simple egg is definitely all you need at times, especially when so beautifully prepared like this one!

  13. You made me wish I could spend a week at that farm! You are so right, eggs can make the best meal!

  14. This is a perfect lunch; looking forward to having some eggs today!

  15. Classic combination. Great spring stuff, when the local yummies are eggs and asparagus. Maybe a little spinach if you’re lucky.

  16. I am so with you on the egg thing. One of my favorite foods in the world is egg and cheese on bagel. I eat it for dinner when I’m alone.
    *kisses* HH

  17. You are so lucky. I love the pictures you took. Eggs are always a favorite in my family. We must have it at least once a week. Glad you has a wonderful time.

  18. Fantastic and now I am craving a soft boiled egg myself 🙂 The asparagus and prosciutto combo is dreamy.

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. Never thought about eggs and asparagus before. Sounds yummy! I have to hit the grocery store in a little while, and this will be an easy supper to start off the weekend 🙂


Leave a Reply

