For Mom: Oreo Brownies

My mom is not a baker.  She makes a mean curry and a fabulous chicken noodle casserole, but baking is not her cup of tea. 

That’s the amazing thing about moms, though, they do all sorts of stuff they hate, just because they love you.  Did she enjoy watching the endless hours of soccer games in which I rarely left the bench?  Not likely.  Did she complain during the year I got really into Kurt Cobain and blared Nirvana at all hours of the day? Nope. 

So when my brother and I were in college, and she sent care packages full of homemade brownies and spiced raisin bread, I shouldn’t have been surprised.  When I first moved to St. Louis, the care packages came from my grandmother.  But as baking got harder for her, Mom took over, believing that dorm-dwelling students can’t subsist without home-baked treats. My brownies would arrive, mangled and smashed, and my roommates and I would dive into them, devouring the batch in minutes.

With my college days long gone, I can’t remember the last time I received baked goods in the mail.  Squished, crushed, or crumbled, it doesn’t matter.  There is something so heartwarming about a shoebox full of homemade goodness. And if, like me, you haven’t seen a brownie-filled care package on your doorstep in a  few years, just imagine how many years it’s been for your mom!

So make your mom a batch of these decadent, old-school brownies.  And pretend that you’re back in college, in the days when you could eat pizza at midnight and drink beer all weekend without gaining an ounce! If your mom lives far away, wrap these babies up and send ’em overnight mail! And if she’s close by, tuck them in a cute, parchment-lined shoebox anyway, for old times sake.

Happy Mother’s Day!

brownie

Oreo Brownies

For the brownies:

4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped

3/4 cup unsalted butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs, beaten

1 cup flour

2 cups crushed Oreo cookies (or other sandwich cookies), divided

For the frosting:

3 tablespoons butter, soft

1 1/4 cups confectioners sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tablespoons milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan.  To make the brownies, put the chocolate and butter in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on low heat, stirring every 30 seconds until melted. Stir in the sugar, eggs and flour to combine. fold in half of the cookie crumbs.  Spread the batter into the pan and bake for about 35 minutes.  Cool completely.

Meanwhile, make the frosting.  Whip the butter with an electric mixer.  Beat in the sugar, then add the vanilla, cocoa, and milk and beat until fluffy and combined. 

Spread the cooled brownies with the frosting and sprinkle with the remaining Oreo crumbs.  Slice the brownies into bars and serve with a tall glass of milk!

Published in: on May 6, 2011 at 6:57 am  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/for-mom-oreo-brownies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What an irresistible mother’s day treat, who could say no to these?
    *kisses* HH

  2. awwww haha 🙂 love everything about this week’s post! such great mental images.

  3. I didn’t know what I should make for my Mom. I love this recipe! I know she will love these Brownies! Joe

  4. Those oreo brownies look irresistible!

  5. nice idea using the cookie crumbs.

  6. How well I remember those days and nights in college! This is such a sweet post and a really great idea!

  7. What a sweet idea! Thanks. I think I will put a care package together for the parentals. 😉

  8. I felt so touched by your description of your mother and her selfless love; as a mother I have often despaired of having my kids realize the ongoing sacrifice and selfless love that motherhood is; I would love to have my kids say the things you said about your mom; maybe some day
    Your brownies are adorable! Love chocolate in any form!

  9. I agree, baked goods are such a lovely thing to receive. And I’m sure the brownies tasted gorgeous and a little smooshing never hurt anything! 😀

  10. Your mom is so lucky to have such a delicious brownie for mot.her’s day. I think they look reall great! You’ve done them beautifully

    Have a great weekeend.

  11. Fabulous.. Who doesn’t love brownies? or oreos? what a great combination.

    Happy Mother’s Day to all!!

  12. Fantastic combination!! I love chocolate! 🙂

  13. What a sweet tribute to your Mom. I’m sure she’ll enjoy these delicious looking brownies!! They look fantastic! I’m bookmarking these to try soon.

  14. Your mom is a lucky girl! The brownies look sensational.

  15. Those look incredible! I will be making these for sure!

  16. I love this story. I’m am so like your mom in that I don’t bake, but when my kids were in college, I made sure there was something to remember during finals.

  17. You are right there – mom’s always do things they don’t like ‘coz they love us 🙂

    Your brownies bring me to my knees 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  18. These look divine, and made me miss my momma!

  19. What a perfectly lovely thing to do for your mama! I LOVE getting baked goods in the mail – but it hasn’t happened for a looooong time. I will have to surprise someone with something soon. 🙂

  20. What a lucky mom you have to receive such a delicious, decadent dessert from you! Great job on these. They have inspired a serious chocolate craving in me, haha! 🙂

  21. I make chocolate covered oreo balls.
    And I make nutella brownies.
    And oh my, I must make these! incredible!

  22. oreo brownies? YUM!!! great recipe thank you for sharing ! 😀


Leave a Reply

