Apricot Walnut Sour Cream Scones

apricot walnut sour cream scones

Are you setting your alarm for three o’clock Friday morning?

Me neither.

That’s what DVR is for.

I admit, I am kind of caught up in the royal wedding frenzy.  Who doesn’t love a wedding?  Actually… my brother.  He hates weddings.  But that’s because he is a party pooper who doesn’t like to dance and he isn’t a fan of cake (scary, I know).  Which is why my Mom and I are not inviting him to our Wedding High Tea.

Yep, we’re going to hang out in front of the television, watch our recording of William and Kate, and eat scones.  You should too.  Eat scones, I mean.

I might be tempted to go all out for Wedding High Tea… scones with clotted cream, tiny tea sandwiches filled with cucumber, salmon and watercress, little lemon tarts and chocolate truffles. But I’ll probably just make these apricot walnut sour cream scones because with apricots and walnuts, who needs more? They may be more New England than Ye Olde England, but they are certainly tasty.

I love the softness of sour cream scones.  The texture is luxurious, and the recipe is forgiving.  These scones are fantastic with a good cup of tea, which is convenient since tea is, of course, the whole point here.

I’m a huge fan of Harney & Sons loose leaf teas.  I just discovered their Paris tea, which truly does taste like the teas houses of Paris.  Years ago, I spent many lazy afternoons in a tiny Parisian teahouse near Rue Mouffetard writing letters, real letters, on real paper.  When was the last time you wrote a letter? This fruity black tea makes me want to write letters. And it will be wonderful with my apricot walnut sour cream scones.

What is your favorite tea?  Any other recommendations for what to drink at our Wedding High Tea?

Apricot Walnut Sour Cream Scones

Makes 8

For the scones:

2 cups flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

5 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter

2/3 cup full fat sour cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, toasted

1/2 cup chopped dried apricots

For the topping:

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 tablespoons salted butter

 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  Cut the butter in small pieces and add to the flour mixture.  Rub the butter into the flour mixture with your fingers until no butter pieces are larger than a pea. Stir in the sour cream, vanilla, apricots, and walnuts.  Using your hands, form the wet, ragged dough into a ball.  On a floured surface, knead the dough about a dozen turns and then flatten the ball into a disk and cut into eight wedges. Place the wedges on a greased baking dish (or use a fancy-dancy scone pan like I did). In a small bowl, combine the cinnamon, flour and brown sugar.  Cut the butter in small bits and rub in with your fingers.  Sprinkle the crumble topping over the scones, pressing in a bit to make sure it sticks.  Bake until golden, about 25 minutes. Serve warm with butter and jam.
Published in: on April 26, 2011 at 7:37 pm  Comments (21)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/apricot-walnut-sour-cream-scones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These look almost worth getting up that early for.

  2. You made me smile thinking of writing letters on real paper with real pen, sitting at a café at rue Mouffetard! that is in the Quartier Latin, is it not> well, my neighbor invited me to her place at 6 AM to watch the wedding and now that I have seen your scones,I think I may go (initially I said “hell no!”
    tea? I am partial to Mariage Frères , best tea in my opinion, get a smokey one! (there are over 400 varieties)

    • Oooh, Mariage Freres… yes, wonderful! And I say go to your neighbor’s house. When is the next time you’ll have the occasion to go to a party in the wee hours of the morning?

  3. Scones? Yes. YES! :-)))Wedding? Spare me…;-)

  4. I suggest Russian caravan tea – it is delicious with scones – I like the East India Company’s – have a lovely time!

  5. Those scones look awesome. Great call on the apricots and walnuts – love both of them.

  6. I am not a big fan of weddings either but please count me in for the scones.. I can never let something like that down. It looks really delicious.

  7. Fortnam and Mason makes Queen Anne tea. I suspect it is a darjeeling or darjeeling blend. It’s definitely a black tea, but not brackish, slighly sweet. Lovely. No need to doctor it with lemon or milk.

  8. You guys are too cute. 🙂 I love that you’re setting aside time for wedding and scones!! 🙂

  9. I can almost taste the deliciousness with my cup of coffee!

  10. Their Paris tea is my FAVORITE!! I am DVRing all the festivities, then watching them Saturday night since I have to be out all Friday night 😦 Can’t wait!! I should make these scones to celebrate!

  11. It has got to be PIMMS! The quintessential summer celebration drink. Ooh look pimms oclock! I love scones made with buttermilk or if I dont have any, yogurt works well. Will certainly be trying out a sour cream version soon.

  12. Definitely Blueberry Tea…you know the kind will libations. After all, we’re celebrating! Your scones look wonderful.

    • That’s WITH libations, not “will” and no, I haven’t been into it already but soon, really soon!

  13. Never made scones before, but these sound delicious. Might have to try them out soon.

  14. I have a friend that adores scones. Can’t wait to pass this along to her!

    Kristi

  15. Goodness these sound amazing. Who needs a royal wedding for scones!? And also, that scone pan! We must find!

  16. i recorded it also and wanted to make scones, but never got around..glad you did they look awesome!!

    sweetlife

  17. Dear Katie – You know I am a scone freak right???? So this right here makes me want to hug you and then plish off your entire plate of scones!! Marvelous flavors darling and just when we are all going through Royalty cold turkey!

    Your post is wonderful and makes me want to kiss you. There is no wedding in my life right now ..lol… but I have some news to share so please visit and help me get the word out, will ya? 🙂

    chow!

    Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  18. I love scones and apricot, walnut, and sour cream sounds like a very good combination.

    ~Brenda

  19. […] Apricot Walnut Sour Cream Scones […]


Leave a Reply

