Blackberry Almond Breakfast Clafoutis

clafoutis

I wanted to share my grandmother’s Passover brisket recipe with all of you.  But no matter how many times I fiddle with the proportions, or adjust the oven temperature, it still doesn’t taste like Nannie’s.  While I’ve happily tweaked some of Nannie’s recipes, including her Hanukkah Latkes and her Chocolate Zucchini Loaf, the brisket is sacred. I have a few more tricks to try, and as soon as I get it right I promise to share. But in the meantime, a breakfast treat.

Rich and saucy brisket may be the iconic Passover seder dish, but after two nights of brisket, potato kugel, charoset and macaroons, even deliciously iconic gets old. And matzo for breakfast for eight days? No, thank you.

berries

This sweet and hearty clafoutis breaks up the days in which oatmeal, toast and cereal are off limits. A typical French clafoutis is a light, fruity and eggy dessert, but anytime I can swing dessert for breakfast, I go for it. And why not? Eggs, berries, almonds… sounds like breakfast to me.  You could serve this for dessert, if you like, with a bit of gently whipped cream.  But at breakfast, a dollop of Greek yogurt does the trick.

I love the big, juicy blackberries here.  But feel free to change it up with other fruits, or even a mixture of fruits.  Early spring strawberries would be lovely. 

passover recipe clafoutis

Blackberry Almond Breakfast Clafoutis

Serves 2

nonstick cooking spray

1 cup fresh blackberries

2 eggs

1/4 cup half and half

1/4 cup almond meal

pinch of cinnamon

3 tablespoons turbinado sugar

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Coat a small baking dish with cooking spray.  Beat the eggs until frothy.  Beat in the cream, almond meal, and cinnamon.  Pour the mixture over the berries and sprinkle with the sugar.  Bake until puffed, brown, and set in the center, about 35 minutes. Serve warm, with Greek yogurt if desired.

A note on the baking dish: you can double the recipe and bake in a 9-inch square pan, if you prefer.  To prepare the recipe for just two servings, feel free to use whatever small oven-safe dish you have on hand. This is a very forgiving recipe!  But the larger the dish, the more the batter will spread out, and the less cooking time you will need. So keep an eye on the clafoutis as it bakes.

Published in: on April 14, 2011 at 7:55 pm  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/04/14/blackberry-almond-breakfast-clafoutis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love this dessert because I adore blackberries and i happen to have some still! I was wondering if you had a good recipe for matzo?

    • You know, I have never made matzo myself. I have tried a number of brands, even some from a coop on New York, but I don’t think I’ve eaten homemade matzo. If you find a good recipe let me know!

  2. Lovely, lovely dish. I’ve never eaten clafoutis for breakfast–love that idea. 🙂

  3. Drool! We love clafoutis and blackberries are my husband’s top favourite summer fruit.

  4. I hope you get that brisket figured out and share it with us soon! My family loves a good brisket.

    Your breakfast clafoutis sounds delicious and what a great idea for a nice, weekend breafast.

  5. Oh how perfect, Katie! I adore clafoutis but have only made it with cherries. Adding blackberries is inspired. 🙂

  6. Desserts for breakfast sound good to me. 🙂 Looks delicious!

  7. I’ve printed this one up to make for breakfast this week. I’m sure I can make a few and warm them in the frig. Lovely!

    • It does reheat relatively well. I actually have to confess that I made it for breakfast, ate half, and then reheated it again for lunch!

  8. WOW!!! I love blackberries. this is a perfect recipe to try.

  9. YEA YEA YEA ….YOU mae CLAFOUTIS!!! I love that you did because it is my absolute fave custardy dessert :)And the fact that you used blackberries is marvelous

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  10. YEA YEA YEA ….YOU made CLAFOUTIS!!! I love that you did because it is my absolute fave custardy dessert :)And the fact that you used blackberries is marvelous

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  11. A clafoutis for Passover. Brilliant. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  12. I love brisket and really look forward to seeing that recipe!

  13. I love blackberries for breakfast 🙂 This looks fantastic!

  14. I love dessert for breakfast too. Sounds great!

  15. Yum! This looks so good! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  16. What a lovely recipe. Really great idea for a romantic brunch. Like the idea of using the almond flour as well. Just one question… what is turbinado sugar? Ive never heard of it before and I like to think of myself as a proper foodie.

    • Turbinado sugar is raw sugar. It is supposed to be less processed – but I really like it for tis recipe because of the big crystals. It works well sprinkled on top!

  17. Great recipe! I couldn’t ask for more than a great delicious breakfast than this one after my workout! Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

