More on Chestnut Flour: Chestnut, Gorgonzola, and Apple Tart

gorgonzola and walnut apple tart

After I made chestnut biscotti last week, I still had some chestnut flour left.  The sweet and nutty flavor gave me the itch to experiment. 

It turns out that chestnut flour is lovely in sweet treats, and equally as nice in savory preparations.  But it’s absolutely amazing in sweet and savory dishes.  The saltiness of the gorgonzola, the richness of the walnuts, the tartness of the apple and the sweetness of the honey bring out the unique earthiness of the chestnut in the crust. Since chestnut flour, unlike almond flour or other nut flours, is not especially high in fat, the texture of this crust is less crumbly and more crisp than a usual flakey dough.  But I think that it adds to the heartiness of the dish.

I’m loving this tart for dinner with a big green salad, but it would be great as part of a brunch spread.  And I’m going to go have another slice.  Right now.

gorgonzola and nut tart

Chestnut, Gorgonzola, and Apple Tart

Serves 6

For the crust:

2/3 cup all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling

1/3 cup chestnut flour

3 tablespoons cold butter, cut in pieces

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons water

For the filling:

1/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts

1/2 cup crumbled gorgonzola cheese

2 eggs, beaten

1 medium Granny Smith apple

3 tablespoons honey

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, pulse the flours, butter and salt.  Add the water and pulse until the dough just starts to come together.  Turn out the dough on a floured surface and knead lightly just until the dough comes together. Roll out to a circle about 9 inches in diameter. Transfer the crust to a greased 8-inch tart or quiche pan.

In a medium bowl, mix together the nuts, cheese, and eggs. Spread the mixture in the crust.  Slice the apple into very thin wedges.  Arrange the apple slices on the tart. Bake the tart in the middle of the oven for about 30 minutes.  Drizzle with honey and serve warm.

slice of quiche

Published in: on March 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/more-on-chestnut-flour-chestnut-gorgonzola-and-apple-tart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would love to try chestnut flour too. The apple tart must taste really wonderful with gorgonzola.

  2. This is so incredibly unique! Very chic for a brunch!

  3. My sister and I once made a strudel that was apples, blue cheese, candied nuts and herbs. Love the sweet and savory combo. Yum!

    • That sounds fantastic – love the idea of a strudel with these flavors. I’ll probably cheat and use filo dough… but I am going to have to try it!

  4. how interesting… I have never used chestnut flour before but both of these dishes look so great. I love tarts!

  5. What a gorgeous tart! THe chestnut flour must have added such a great flavor to the crust.

  6. I’m quite intrigued by chestnut flour, the tart looks good. Must buy some for experimenting one day!

  7. Hi Katie, I have been away–in Costa Rica—for a couple of weeks–love coming back here and finding your terrific recipes using chestnut flour. inspirational!

    • So jealous! I am sure Costa Rica was lovely… and it’s always a let-down to return from a trip, so I’m glad chestnut flour recipes could inspire you!

  8. I am drooling; I don’t say that often but this time the flavors of chestnut, gorgonzola, the crisp apples, how can I not? I want to eat a slice, please!

  9. I have never heard of chestnut flour before, I’m intrigued. Your tart sounds delicious, what a great combination of flavors!

  10. Katie, this looks beautiful! And sounds like a delicious combination of flavors. Must try it!

  11. Me. Oh. My.

  12. This wave of creativity is like a gush of warm air (on a ccooollddd day 🙂 Fantastic and gorgonzola and apple is too mouthwatering for words 🙂

    Must investigate further, this chestnut flour 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  13. i love the combination of cheese and apples.
    yours turned out wonderfully!!!
    now i’ve got to try chestnut flour in something

  14. I’ve never cooked with chestnut flour. I’m curious!! I’ll have to try it out soon!

  15. love chestnut flour — have been wanting some new uses, voila there you provided. have to try both the tart and biscotti — they look mouth-watering!

  16. This looks absolutely gorgeous. I love the idea of chestnut flour, although I’ve never tried it myself. I can imagine the extra dimension it would add to the dish though.

  17. Beautiful recipe here. I have never used chestnut flour, I would love to try it. The drizzle of honey at the end of this recipe just makes it look even more delicious 🙂
    Heidi xo

  18. […] Chestnut, Gorgonzola and Apple Tart […]

  19. That looks lovely! It would be nice for Christmas, too.

  20. […] Chestnut, Gorgonzola and Apple Tart makes a really beautiful side […]


Leave a Reply

