Golden Onion Dip

french onion dip

Years ago, when I had just graduated from college, I lived with my friend Nancy.  Nancy was a fantastic roommate, and she had just one quirk: her food jags.  Like  a little kid she would often go for weeks eating only one food.  First it was lobster ravioli, then orange glazed salmon, then blueberry oatmeal.  Always delicious, usually nutritious, but monotonous. And once a food jag was over, Nancy would declare herself tired of the food of the month, and move on.  To this day, she has not eaten another lobster ravioli.

If I were ever to go on a food jag, onion dip would be it.  For as long as I can remember I have adored the simple Lipton’s onion soup and sour cream standby.  It was on my grandmother’s coffee table, along with a big bowl of Ruffles potato chips, at every family function.  It was the prelude to every BBQ at my parent’s beach house. I never believed that anything could be better than the salty, creamy deliciousness.

french onion dip

Which is why I hadn’t bothered to make my own onion dip from scratch.  Until today.  And I’m never going back.  As much as I thought I loved the simple mixture of Lipton’s and sour cream, this is twice as good.  Rich and buttery, deeply flavorful and still so creamy, this dip is perfect with the salty crunch of a potato chip.  It’s onion dip – but better.  And while it takes a few more minutes to make than the packaged dump and stir, it’s really so simple.  Just cook the onions until wonderfully golden, and then whip them into a creamy base of mayonnaise, cream cheese and sour cream. 

I made this dip two days ago expecting to enjoy just a few bites as a snack, but we ate the whole bowl for dinner. And I couldn’t stop thinking about how delicious it was… which lead me to make it again today.  I feel my first food jag coming on, but I’m fighting it.  While a month of sweet and savory golden onion dip sounds divine, I don’t want to get tired of this dip.  I want to savor it, swoon over it, and enjoy.

This dip would make a great addition to your Oscar-watching spread tomorrow night, but it’s pretty much fantastic anytime.  And if you happen to have any leftover (unlikely), this dip is actually great as a sandwich spread, and is particularly awesome with roast beef.

homemade french onion dip

Golden Onion Dip

Serves 4-6

1 medium yellow onion

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon paprika

salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 ounces cream cheese, softened

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1/3 cup sour cream

Peel the onion and slice in half.  Slice the onion into thin half-moon slices.  Warm the butter and oil in a skillet over medium heat and add the onion.  Stir in the paprika and salt and pepper.  Saute over medium for 8-10 minutes and then reduce heat to low and cook for 10 minutes more, until the onion is soft and brown. Cool slightly. Meanwhile, whip the cream cheese with an electric mixer.  Whip in the mayonnaise and sour cream.  Stir in the onions and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Chill at least 30 minutes, or overnight.  Serve with potato chips or fresh cut up vegetables.

Published in: on February 26, 2011 at 2:53 pm  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/golden-onion-dip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My ‘Jag’ was an obsession with Onion and sour cream ‘Pringles’ chips. Thank goodness I finally got off that wagon…my hips couldn’t take it anymore. LOL

    Now, with this dip…I can actually apply reason and have it with some toasted pitas or unsalted tacos ;o)

    Thanks for your tasty recipe Katie.

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  2. My husband does not like onion but that’s OK because that would mean I can have it all for myself. Very nice dip.

    Nisrine

  3. The real thing is so. much. better. 🙂 I’m with you! Looks delicious! Once I made my own, I never went back!

  4. We love onions and this would be great with some rye crackers!

    • Oooh, rye crackers are a great idea!

  5. I loved onion dip as a kid too but in NZ it was always a pack of Maggi onion soup mixed with cream cheese or some other soft cheese and I couldn’t face eatng it and having my more mature taste buds tell me how wrong I was…This looks amazing though, might be just the thing.

    • I just googled Maggi onion soup mix – looks just like Lipton’s! My adult taste buds still love it, but the homemade version is so much better!

  6. I always buy ready made dips. But you’re right, we can also make dips ourselves, probably even better than the ones from supermarkets, etc. Your recipe sounds very yummy! Will definitely try this.

  7. It’s fabulous on top of a grilled steak too, although I agree it’s difficult to share with potato chips.

    • What a great idea! I bet this is a fanttastic steak topping. I can’t wait to try it.

  8. Oh, boy, do I have fond memories of Ruffles and Lipton’s onion and sour cream dip! YUM…but a bit more sodium than I want these days! Your version sounds fabulous!!!

  9. Man, oh man, I can taste the Ruffles now!!! Isn’t it wonderful and amazing how a food can make you remember moments so vividly? This looks and sounds delicious!!! Really enjoyed looking around your blog!

  10. If there’s one food I can’t say no to, it’s onion dip! This looks very good.

  11. I love onion dip. Now I’m going to be craving it until I have some. This dip looks fabulous.

  12. Such a funny story about your old roommate! Lobster ravioli sounds like an expensive habit. Your dip looks fantastic. Thanks for your comment on my blog!

  13. This sounds scrumptious! And I admit I go on lunch jags. My lunches tend to be very monotonous and healthy!

  14. Oooo, that looks like something I mom used to make and we would devour it in moments!

  15. Who doesn’t love onion dip? This looks great!

  16. OK Katie, I can’t just take your word for it that ANYTHING could be better than that delicious stand-by. :-)I will have to try your version. 🙂 And since it’s vegetarian month at cooking club, this will be perfect!! 🙂

  17. What a great idea! I haven’t had onion dip in forever and I’d love to make some! Sounds so delicious! 🙂

  18. It looks like you read my mind. This week has been dips week for me I made chickpea and roasted red pepper dip and ate it until I was sick. I am gonna try your onion dip, that will be a nice variation.

  19. I love onion dip. 🙂 I could SO go through a bag of chips and this dip in a heartbeat.

  20. I used to love the Lipton onion dip in my younger years, but I made it again for old times this past summer and was surprised at how flat and salty it tasted. I’m saving this for my next bbq. Wonderful!

    Kristi

  21. This is amazing! It was my first time making onion dip from scratch and I’m in love. I served it for a group of friends and they said they would let me make it again for them any time I want. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

    • I’m so glad your friends liked it! It is a real crowd pleaser. But if you have any leftovers it is truly awesome on a burger!


Leave a Reply

