Last Minute Super Bowl Snacks (and a Bad Omen)

After making Mac ‘N Beer Cheese Soup last week, I told you all that I had a Steelers-inspired recipe up my sleeve as well.  And I did.  Did you know that Klondike Bars were invented in Pittsburgh?  I figured that after a hearty soup, a Super Bowl dessert was in order, and I set out to make my own Klondike Bars.

But this was one of those weeks when my kitchen was just crawling with bad juju!  The grocery store was out of my favorite brand of ice cream.  My first batch of chocolate seized up when a water droplet invaded the bowl (water and chocolate do NOT mix).  After buying a second batch of chocolate chips, I stupidly turned my back on the double boiler, and the chocolate burned.  After a third trek to the market, I attempted to coat squares of ice cream with what I had envisioned to be a fool-proof method.  Wrong!  Melted ice cream and drippy chocolate flowed over my counters and into the sink. 

ice cream

Not one to waste good sugary ingredients, I spread the remaining melted chocolate and bricks of vanilla ice cream in layers in a loaf pan, topped it with gold sprinkles in a sad little Steelers gesture, stuck it in the freezer, and gave up on the Klondike Bars.  I have to admit, the frozen Klondike Loaf is really tasty, but even so, it all seems like  a bad omen for Pittsburgh tomorrow.  I’m sorry to all of you Steelers fans, but the juju doesn’t lie. 

But bad omen or not, tomorrow is still the Super Bowl, and you need some snacks.  I’m sure you’ll all be making the oh-so gourmet Klondike Loaf, but in addition, a few quick and easy suggestions for tomorrow’s spread:

pimento cheese toasts

Pimento Cheese Toasts are so simple, and such a huge crowd pleaser!

fruit an dnut popcorn balls

Popcorn balls are so easy and quick to make, and so fun and sticky to eat!

pigs in blanket

The Cubano Piggies I told you about a couple weeks ago are fantastic, unexpected bundles of yumminess!

malt

Nobody has ever turned down a chocolate malt!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/last-minute-super-bowl-snacks-and-a-bad-omen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i wish I could be a guest at your place! Love love al these ideas and I had popcorn balls on my to-do list for years!

  2. Yummy! I love those popcorn balls….very special.

  3. First of all, I’m super impressed with your personal challenge to make homemade Klondike’s (and I had no idea they were created in Pittsburgh!). Second, it definitely doesn’t look like a failed attempt to me–still looks delicious, which looks like a win for the Steel City to me 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  4. Wow.. popcorn balls? Count me in please. I’ve seen it before but yours look by far much better. The cubano piggies are fantastic!

    Have a great week ahead.

  5. Maybe you absorbed all the bad luck so that your team won’t have to deal with any of it! At least that’s what I’m hoping for.

    These snacks sound delicious!

  6. What a great spread! I wish I’d been at your SB party!

  7. I love the treats you proposed for game day. The odds makers in Las Vegas will be giving you a call anyday now. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  8. I’m not a huge sports fan but your menu would entice even ME to a super bowl party. 🙂

  9. The juju was right 🙂 Everything looks cozy and delicious! Love those Cubano Piggies!

  10. I would take one of those chocolate malts right now!! And the klondike loaf looks pretty delicious 🙂

  11. I truly believe that we are way too hard on oursleves. Boy, are we ever a hard Foodie group to please!
    My Mom always tells me “It happens to the living”.

    As far as I can see…everything looks very appetizing ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  12. I second everyone who has said “I want to eat at your place!”
    Everything looks delicious. I want a chocolate malt 🙂

  13. I hate sports, but I’d soooo be at your house for Superbowl Sunday next year if you are making all these goodies.
    *kisses* HH


Leave a Reply

