For The Packers: Mac-‘N-Beer-Cheese Soup

beer cheese soup with macaroniI’m not actually much of a sports fan.  Oh sure, I watch football every Sunday, but only because Jeff does.  And I have a Patriots sweatshirt, but Jeff bought it for me and I wear it because it’s warm.  Even so, I love football.  Not for the game itself, but for the food. I’m realizing just now that I’m devoting more energy to this year’s Super Bowl menu that I did to Thanksgiving and Christmas combined.  That should probably tell you something about my palate. 

I’d been thinking for months about what I’d cook if the Patriots made it to the Super Bowl.  White clam pizza, baked beans, Parker House rolls, Boston Cream Pie…  but now none of those dishes seem quite right.  However, beer cheese soup, complete with elbow noodles and a generous sprinkle of scallions, is just the thing.  I love Wisconsin Beer Cheese Soup, and I love macaroni and cheese, why not combine the two? 

Hearty and rich, this soup feeds a crowd, and will keep well in a crock pot on a buffet table. It’s creamy and cheesy but the hoppy beer cuts through the richness, as does the hint of spice from the jalapeno.  There’s plenty of flavor from the Worcestershire sauce and mustard, but I’m a mustard addict so next time I might add an extra teaspoon of it. And if you like more spice, you could certainly add more jalapeno. Be sure to use a beer you like to drink, because the flavor really comes through. I went for an IPA we happened to have in the fridge, and it was lovely.

And for you Steelers fans, not to worry, I’m working on a Pittsburgh-inspired recipe too!

beer cheese soup

Mac-‘N-Beer-Cheese Soup

Serves 6

1/2 lb elbow macaroni

4 tablespoons butter

1 small onion, diced

1 medium carrot, peeled and diced

3 loves garlic, diced

1 small jalapeno, seeded and diced

1 teaspoon dry mustard powder

4 tablespoons flour

11/2 cups vegetable broth

1 (12 ounce) bottle beer

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

salt and freshly ground black pepper

1/4 chopped scallions, for garnish

Cook the macaroni in boiling salted water until al dente.  Drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, heat the butter in a dutch oven.  Saute the onion 1 minute.  Add the carrot, garlic and jalapeno and saute over medium-low heat until the vegetables are slightly brown and very soft. Stir in the mustard powder. Add the flour and stir well, cooking for 1 minute.  Slowly wisk in half of the broth to form a smooth paste.  In a slow stream, wisk in the remaining broth and the beer.  Once well incorporated, add in the cheese and stir continuously until melted.  Add the milk and Worcestershire sauce and then stir in the macaroni.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve topped with a sprinkle of chopped scallions.

Published in: on January 30, 2011 at 8:13 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/for-the-packers-mac-n-beer-cheese-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wow Mac N Cheese with beer :-)) the combination does sound really great!

  2. Sniff, sniff, we were a sad house when the Pats met their demise. Beer-cheddar soup is a great idea in honor of the Packers, for whom we will be rooting! Can’t see the Steelers win… just can’t.

  3. Never had it before with beer although I use beer to make some Irish soup. Love the idea thoguh. I believe the beer would give the soup a great taste! Very brilliant.

    Have a greak week ahead

  4. This looks GREAT! I’d love to try this.

  5. You are so much fun! 🙂 Fancy putting all that thought into football food. I love it! The soup looks and sounds amazing, Katie. 🙂

  6. Oh my! The Packer fan in my house would surely enjoy this!! 🙂

  7. Oh yum yum! You make me wish it was winter here so I could make this soup right now!

  8. mac and cheese with beer sounds too good to be true! its really creative:) i cant wait to try this.

  9. I am not a football fan either…but this soup sounds fabulous!

  10. Very creative, and I have to say that this would please most of the football watching men I know!

    Kristi

  11. terrific idea—and I love that it is a vegetable broth based soup. I have no opinion about the football teams, but I’m curious about your Pittsburgh inspired menu!

  12. What an awesome idea! I’ve had beer and cheese bread, so I know I’d love this!

  13. Thanks for the special soup for our team! Perfect ingredients 🙂 It does sound good!

  14. Wow, this soup would be perfect sitting on the stove top this Sunday or ANY day! I think we should just have one big party – your house or ours?! 🙂

  15. Ooh beer and cheese and ma is a very very wicked combination – it in corporated all the flavors that the kid in us (with that adult kick) adore. LOVE IT!

    chow ! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  16. This soup sounds hearty and satisfying. I couldn’t care less about football, but I love planning menus for every occasion! So, of course, I posted a couple weeks ago about foods for the Super Bowl! I even gave a Super Bowl party once, but I didn’t see one minute of the game–I was happy to stay in the kitchen and keep the food comin’!

  17. I am a cricket fan buts thats it in the name of sports.This soup looks very delicious to sip on while the game is on.Perfect for guys!

  18. This looks and sounds delicious! As soon as folks know beer is involved they will be all over it!

  19. From what I hear, Superbowl Sunday is the second biggest food holiday of the year. And after seeing how passionate people are about their chili and nachos…I’m not surprised. This soup sounds delicious!

  20. […] making Mac ‘N Beer Cheese Soup last week, I told you all that I had a Steelers-inspired recipe up my sleeve as well.  And I did.  […]

  21. This looks like a delicious and hearty soup. Perfect for a football game and cold weather!

  22. […] with Superbowl snacks before.  Last year, I made four varieties of gourmet pigs in a blanket and mac ‘n beer cheese soup. But this year I decided to go old school with BBQ turkey burger sliders and sweet […]


Leave a Reply

