New Year’s Day Brunch

There are a number of things I miss about living in Manhattan. High up on that list is brunch.

Brunch is served here in Boston, but it’s just not the same.  New Yorkers really know how to brunch.  In New York, brunch is not a meal eaten between breakfast and lunch, but in place of both.  Meaning that nobody in New York eats brunch at 10:00am.  I don’t even think restaurants open for brunch that early.  Brunch reservations are hardest to come by around 1:00pm, once the city has awoken and everyone has had time to make themselves presentable.  Which is another thing I love about brunch in the city.  It’s an occasion to be seen.  Here in Boston, I throw on sweat pants and stumble down the street for pancakes.  In New York, I wouldn’t have dreamed of brunching without blow drying my hair and smearing on lip gloss.  There’s something about drinking cocktails with your eggs that makes you feel like you should wear make-up, and since no New York brunch menu is complete without a cocktail, mascera is a must.

In the spirit of the New York brunch, I give you a few ideas to choose from for your New Year’s Day festivities.  Sleep in, pour plenty of Champagne, and treat yourself to a decadent meal before those New Year’s Resolutions sink in.

New England Noodle Kugel

cranberry nrunch kugel

Noodle kugel makes for a wonderful brunch dish.  Serve with a salad of orange and grapefruit wedges

Blueberry Cornmeal Waffles

blueberry cornmeal waffles

Go ahead and use frozen blueberries in place of fresh.  No need to thaw before adding them to the waffle batter.

Chilaquiles

mexican breakfast

I top my chilaquilles with a fried egg, but tossing some shredded chicken in the pan when you add the tortillas to the bubbling salsa would be even more authentic. Of course, you could always go for both!

Peach Oat Muffins

healthy peach muffins

I love these moist and chewy muffins with a liberal schmear of strawberry jam.  Something about the peach and strawberry combo does it for me! Frozen peaches work great in this recipe.

Italian Chicken Sausage Hash and Eggs

hash and eggs

Crisp, hearty sausage hash is fantastic for feeding a crowd.  I love this version with Italian sausage, but for extra kick you could substitute fresh Mexican chorizo instead, and garnish with a bit of chopped cilantro.

Apples ‘N Honey Pancakes

brunch pancakes

Pretty apple slices, sweet honey drizzle, what more could you want? Oh yeah… a glass of Champagne.

Published in: on December 27, 2010 at 8:30 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/12/27/new-years-day-brunch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your apple and honey pancakes look fantastic! And I never knew the difference between brunches in NY and Boston. I think I’d like a city with the options of both. Sometimes I’m in the mood to go out in sweatpants, and other times fancied up in mascara 🙂 I hope you had a great Christmas and are still enjoying the holiday season 🙂

  2. I love those apple pancakes! Chilaquille is something new to me, I love the combination of flavours.

    Happy New Year!

  3. I love apples so much. It’s by far my favorite. The pancakes looks great! I just had breakfast and I am so in the mood for those cute little pancakes.

  4. My father, who spent in the NYC last four years, misses the crazy atmosphere of the city and food, of course. He came back to Poland in March, and he has continuing depression. I was so stupid and I did not visit him in New York, although my husband did twice and he told I would love it.
    Thanks for sharing brunch ideas – I pick up kugel at first.
    Happy New Year!

  5. these are so cozy and delicious I love your ideas! Brunch is exactly what you need at a time like New Years day. We have fresh orange juice in our champagne xx

  6. We so rarely go out to brunch because my fiance makes excellent bfasts, but recently did and it was SO fun! (And probably more fun because we were dressed nice and looked good 😉 )

  7. So true when you say that u cant dream of stepping out in NY without smearing a lip gloss or maybe putting on heels 🙂 I love all the brunch ideas that u have included in this post..I might try the apple n honey pancakes this weekend and skip the pancakes at iHOP 🙂 Have a lovely week ahead!

  8. YUM! All of those dishes look amazing. I’ve always wanted to try chilaquiles!

  9. Those apples must be a great contrast to the pancakes…that’s a great idea!

  10. All terrific brunch suggestions, Katie! Wishing you a wonderful new year, filled with many Cozy-Delicious things. Nancy

  11. A super New Year’s Day food parade! Here’s wishing you a GLORIOUS New Year!

    Chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  12. happy new year! i want all of the above for brunch! way to have no will power, hehehe.

  13. I love the picture of your kugel, Katie! 🙂 What a wonderful view. Makes me a bit homesick for my own little spot in this world. 🙂 Hope you have a BEAUTIFUL new year. I’m so glad I met you in this blogging world. 🙂

  14. i love those pancakes!! wish i had some right now:) thanks for sharing this. happy new year to you and your family.


Leave a Reply

