Last Minute Cookies: Chocolate Palmiers

chocolate palmiers

If, between dashing through the snow and decking the halls, you haven’t had a whole lot of time left over for baking, you’re not alone. 

Actually, we got barely a dusting of snow, and my halls are pretty bare, but even so our oven hasn’t gotten much of a workout this holiday season.  I could tell you that I have been especially busy at work, or that I’ve been making the Christmas party rounds.  But the truth is so much more embarrassing. 

It’s Sex and the City. A show I haven’t thought about in a decade, and now have on DVD, and it’s addictive. 

So, yeah, I have been sitting on the couch, watching bad ’90s fashion, instead of making you cookies.  And now it’s almost Christmas, and the lack of sugar simply will not do.  I may be a newbie at this whole Christmas thing, but I know enough to realize that you can’t have Christmas without goodies.  Thankfully, I also know that it takes all of about 15 minutes to make these flaky little treats.

taza chocolate of sommerville MA

Ina Garten’s fabulously simple recipe for palmiers, those flaky elephant ear cookies, could only be improved with the magic of chocolate. The key here is to use fabulous chocolate.  I went with a few ounces of Taza’s Salt and Pepper Chocolate Mexicano. Yep.  Salt and pepper chocolate.  Amazing. Kind of gravely, a little strange, but amazing.  I discovered it at the Taza factory store and I’m addicted.  I’ve been adding it to everything from oatmeal cookies to chili con carne, to these pretty palmiers.  Actually, the chocolate makes the palmiers slightly less pretty, and a bit more messy.  But they are oh-so tasty!

elephant ear cookies

Chocolate Palmiers

adapted from Ina Garten

1 cup  sugar

pinch of kosher salt

1 sheet puff pastry, defrosted

3 oz good quality dark chocolate, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Combine the sugar and kosher salt. Spread half of the sugar mixture on a flat surface. Unfold the sheet of puff pastry onto the sugar and pour the rest of the sugar mixture on top, spreading it evenly on the puff pastry. Roll the dough until it’s about 13 by 13-inches. Sprinkle the top evenly with the chocolate and press the chocolate lightly into the dough. Fold the sides of the square towards the center so they go halfway to the middle. Fold them again so the two folds meet exactly at the middle. Then fold like closing a book to have six layers. Carefully slice the dough into 1/2-inch slices and place the slices on two parchment lined baking sheets. Bake the cookies for 6 minutes until caramelized on the bottom, then turn over and bake another 5 minutes, until caramelized on the other side. Transfer to a baking rack to cool.

 

Published in: on December 22, 2010 at 8:40 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/last-minute-cookies-chocolate-palmiers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Katie Pelczar and Mireille Derrien. Mireille Derrien said: RT @CozyDelicious1: Quick and easy last minute cookies for Christmas: chocolate palmiers (new blog post) http://bit.ly/f1mKny […]

  2. I love palmiers, and not to mention it’s with CHOCOLATE! These are great for any time of year.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    Angie

  3. Keep coming up with ideas like this one and you’re forgiven for spending time relaxing. I mean, imagine the nerve when most of the universe is caught up in all the pre-holiday stress! (I’m with you!) Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  4. How funny, I just saw Ina Garten make palmiers yesterday! Yours look delish! Very cute blog 🙂

  5. I love chocolate palmiers. My friend made those not too long ago but yours look much better! Great job.

    Have a great holidays!

  6. Those palmiers look wonderful, especially with that salt and pepper chocolate! I hope you and your family have a very merry Christmas!

  7. Mmmm, I feel like I can taste these in my mouth right now. A little buttery, a little chocolately. So perfect.

  8. Oh wow, Katie – these are fantastic! My latest craving is salt and pepper potato chips so I KNOW I’d love the same thing in chocolate. Delish! 🙂


Leave a Reply

