Double Ginger Ice Box Cake

Ok, ok, I know,  today is the first night of Hanukkah.  And I’m writing about ice box cake, which is decidedly not a Hanukkah food. But to be fair, I made it yesterday.  And I worked late tonight.  So I meant to have latkes for dinner and tell you all about them, but I didn’t.  Not yet.  However, if you have a hankering for potato pancakes, check out last year’s Hanukkah latkes here.

I promise to be back with latkes and doughnuts before Hanukkah is over, but for now, ice box cake.  Have you ever had ice box cake?  It’s probably more of a summer dessert, great for hot days when you don’t want to turn on the oven.  But ease and speed are welcome anytime of the year. And the gingersnaps and bits of candied ginger do add a bit of holiday flare to this ice box cake. 

In any case, after Thanksgiving’s forray into chemical-laden retro treats, I seem to be addicted.  This is not a recipe for purists. Gotta love Cool Whip!  But the creamy layers combined with the chewy ginger make for a much more sophisticated texture experience than you’d think you could get from cookies and Cool Whip. The key here is to use really thin cookies to get multiple creamy layers.  I like Anna’s Ginger Thins but any thin crispy gingersnap will do. 

gingersnap ice box cake

Double Ginger Ice Box Cake

Serves 6

6 ounces cream cheese

8 ounces Cool Whip

1/8 cup chopped candied ginger

5 ounces thin ginger cookies

Beat the cream cheese until fluffy.  Beat in the Cool Whip and then stir in the candied ginger.  Line a loaf pan with foil.  Spread the bottom of the pan with a thin layer of the cream.  Top with a single layer of cookies, broken up to fit as needed.  Repeat with more layers of cream and cookies, ending with a layer of cream.  Freeze for two to three hours (ice box cake is usually refrigerated for at least 6 hours, but freezing is so much faster).  Slice and serve.

Published in: on December 1, 2010 at 8:14 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/double-ginger-ice-box-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooh GINGER, yum. I’ve always sought out good sweet ginger recipes (ginger slice, ginger cake) but I’ve never seen an icebox cake…and I’ll be in summer in NZ soon!

    • Right, of course, my head must be in another hemisphere! Ginger cake would have made more sense here in chilly Boston, but ice box cake will be perfect for NZ!

  2. Icebox ginger cheesecake? wow…that sounds so exciting and great!

  3. Whoa that sounds amazing! Ginger and delicious whipped cream!? We love this!

  4. I don’t usually make freezer desserts…not sure why. But this sounds incredible! Saving this for Christmas!!!

  5. Very intersting combinaations. I love ginger cheescake and yours look fabiolus!

  6. I don’t think I’ve ever had ice box cake! Sounds delicous and while it is kind of cold for a cold dessert, the gingersnaps totally make up for it and make it a holiday treat!

  7. Time to put away the pumpkin and get out the ginger! This sounds delicious.. I’d love a big slice right now!

  8. I love the idea of a white icebox cake warmed up with ginger for the holidays! And I love Anna’s Ginger Thins. Lovely blog.

  9. sounds amazing!!

  10. You are in a retro groove, very fun.
    This icebox cake looks so festive and holiday-like
    Plus, its all about GInger—you can’t go wrong!

  11. Oh man, this is rigth down my street … I love ginger!!

  12. I have one of those tubs of Cool Whip in my freezer! It’s so handy for desserts like this. Ginger cookies are my favorite, and I can tell that this dessert is delicious!


Leave a Reply

