Another Pomegranate Week Recipe: Pomegranate Cranberry Compote

cranberry sauce

Cranberry sauce has been a serious point of contention in our house for years.  My mom is deeply wedded to the jellied version directly from the can.  As far as she is concerned, if it’s not sickeningly sweet and in the shape of a can, it’s not cranberry sauce.  I like my cranberry sauce sweet, but my opposition to all foods that wiggle prevents me from taking her side in the great cranberry debate.  Jellied cranberry sauce is only one step removed from my dreaded nemesis: raspberry gelatin.  Ick.   My step-dad, on the other hand, is a big fan of cranberry chutney; chunky and spicy and a bit sour. Chutney, compete with caramelized onions, garlic, and raisins, is awesome on grilled cheese as well as turkey dinner.  But my brother, who hates onions in any form, turns his nose up at this chutney.

Which is why, every year, we have at least two, and sometimes three different versions of cranberry sauce on the Thanksgiving table.

thanksgiving cranberry sauceBut this year will be different.  I think I have finally found the common ground.  Sweet, but not too sweet.  Chunky, onion free, and complex.  This is a cranberry compote to please them all. If you haven’t encountered the combination of cranberry and pomegranate you’re in for a treat.  Not only is the color deep, rich and beautiful on the holiday table, but the taste is succulent and fresh. The pomegranate arils pop in your mouth for an extra layer of texture.

And while certainly lovely in a pretty bowl next to the mashed potatoes and stuffing and pumpkin pie, I’m a big fan of cranberry sauce as an all-purpose condiment.  Particularly this cranberry compote.  Try it mixed with a bit of mayonnaise as a cranberry spread for roast beef sandwiches.  Layer with plain yogurt and sprinkle with granola for a breakfast parfait.  Or serve it with apple honey cake as a fantastic dessert, as I will be doing tomorrow evening at my POM Wonderful dinner party.     

Pomegranate week is almost over!  But I promise to give you all the details on my big dinner party tomorrow, with all the components put together.

Cranberry Pomegranate Sauce 

1 cup pomegranate juice

1 small apple, diced

1 ½ cups fresh cranberries

3 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 cup pomegranate seeds (also called arils)

In a large saucepan, heat the pomegranate juice, apple, cranberries, sugar and ginger over medium-low heat. Simmer the sauce, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes, until thickened and most of the liquid is evaporated.  Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the pomegranate arils.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

pomegranate seeds

Published in: on November 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/11/13/another-pomegranate-week-recipe-pomegranate-cranberry-compote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You made me smile; I could relate to it I still don’t get people who only like the sauce in a can, but yes, I have had my homemade version turned down in favor of the can; as far as this one, I think it is a brilliant combo, a little apple and a little pom, and almost no sugar, why this is perfect!

  2. That looks really yummy!

  3. I kid you not, I told myself yesterday that I was going to put pom arils in my cranberry sauce this year…and here you’ve gone and done that! Sounds yummy 😀

  4. Gorgeous! I like to add pomegranate to my cranberries too!

  5. Katie,
    Your cranberry pomegranate sauce looks great! I’ve seen a lot of pom around but yours looks special 🙂

  6. Lately, I’ve been seeing so much of this vibrant fruit on the store shelves…and yet, I guess, I’ve been feeling a little lazy about dismantling it. I think I need to re-adjust my attitude ;o)

    Lovely recipe Katie…thanks for the mild nudge.

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  7. We always have homemade AND canned, although I don’t know why, noone ever eats the canned stuff. I like this with the ginger and apple in it – delicious!

  8. This looks so great! Never thought about adding pomegranate seeds to cranberries… yum!

  9. gorgeous, this wold be great on Thanksgiving! The different textures must work quite well together, too!

  10. i love how stunning this looks.. yummy!

  11. fortunately, the cranberry furor over what style to serve is no longer an issue at my house. canned has been long banished. but i do like to look at other tweaks to the sauce—the pom aril touch looks like a winner.

  12. […] Can you believe we actually made it to dessert?  Of course we did.  Dessert is the best part.  Traditional honey cake is dense and dark.  This version is just a bit fluffier, and lightened with sliced apples.  Pomegranate cranberry compote is great with cake, but would also be awesome on your Thanksgiving turkey.  Check out the recipe here. […]

  13. […] jellied cranberry sauce stood proudly next to a delicate citrus cranberry chutney.  (As I’ve said before, multiple cranberry sauce variations are a must). So did sautéed brussels sprouts, and a huge plateful of biscuits (yep, from a can). We […]


Leave a Reply

