A Pomegranate Week Quickie: POM Ketchup

pomegranate ketchup

I almost didn’t post this recipe.  It’s too easy, too simple.  It has just two ingredients and takes just a few minutes.  But the thing is, it’s good.  It’s really, really good.  It uses up the ketchup in that bottle you’ve had on the fridge door for a year. And I would venture a guess that you haven’t tried it. 

POM ketchup is seriously wonderful stuff.  Add reduced pomegranate juice to ketchup and a miracle occurs.  In the interest of full disclosure I must tell you that I actually do not like ketchup.  Not at all.  Not on fries, not on eggs, not on anything.  But I like this recipe very, very much. Sure, you could just spread it on a burger, but here are some more fun suggestions:

-Use POM ketchup to baste grilled chicken, like BBQ sauce

-Mix with mayo and spread it on a turkey and havarti panini for a sweet twist

-Spread over meatloaf and bake uncovered for a caramelized crust

-Spoon onto pizza dough, top with blue cheese and crumbled bacon, and bake until bubbly, top with fresh arugula

-Serve with potato latkes, as I will be doing this weekend at my pomegranate themed dinner party

Oh and one quick word to the wise: use 100% pomegranate juice for this ketchup.  We had an unfortunate experience with some cherry pomegranate juice, and I wouldn’t want such a mishap to turn you off to POM ketchup!

POM Ketchup

1/2 cup 100% pomegranate juice

1/4 cup tomato ketchup

In a small sauce pan heat the pomegranate juice over medium heat.  Simmer the juice until reduced to just 1/8 cup.  Cool 1-2 minutes.  Stir the juice into the ketchup.

Published in: on November 10, 2010 at 8:08 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/a-pomegranate-week-quickie-pom-ketchup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How did you ever think that up? It would never occur to me.

  2. This is so creative!! I’m so excited to try this!

  3. Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best!! This definitely looks interesting and I could definitely see marinating some tofu in this. Thanks!

    • Yes, marinated tofu would be lovely. Awesome idea! I might then roast it to get some caramelization too. Yum!

  4. I like recipes that are easy and delicious! And POM ketchup!! That’s just brilliant!

  5. Katie,
    Your Pom ketchup looks lovely. Very creative idea to make ketchup out of POM. I never thought of that. I should give that a try soon.

  6. I have been working this week on molasses and pomegranate was on the agenda; thanks to you I have something else to experiment with, this is a great recipe!

  7. What a splendid idea, Katie! 🙂 Spreading it on that panini would be my favorite way I think. 🙂 Yum!!

  8. I love how something so simple could add so much flavor to so many things! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. You got me thinking- I have a box of local cranberries on my counter- Cranberry Ketchup? Hmmm

    Quite the confession- I like it on fries, but always add so much more hot sauce to the mix, just a base, but the only way I eat it and when we go out. None in my fridge!

  10. Great idea! POM sent me some juice. I’ll give this a try. Great as a such on poultry, don’t you think?

  11. I love this idea! I can’t wait to try it on meatloaf!

  12. Terrific idea, Katie. I’m glad that you reconsidered, and posted this.
    Clever clever use.

  13. […] potato latkes along with pomegranate ketchup.  Remember that pomegranate ketchup I made last week (check it out here)?  Oh yeah, amazing on […]

  14. It’s the easiest things that are the best to make sometimes!

    I can see how delicious the two would go together.

  15. Your recipe title says POM, as in POM Wonderful brand pomegranate juice. But, you also say to use 100% juice. POM is sweetened. We get 100% juice at Trader Joe’s, no sugar added. Which do you mean for us to use?

    • Hello Rachel. Thanks for your comment. I’m not sure exactly what your question is, since POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate is pure pomegeranat juice, as far as I know. That is what I use, and as I’m sure your read in the series of pomegranate posts, these recipes were created for POM Wonderful’s dinner party celebration.

  16. This is also a good dipping sauce for sweet potato fries. I had pomegranate ketchup in a restaurant and wanted to try to make it myself. Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

