Spicy Thai Chicken Pizza

pizza on the grill

Between magazines, recipe books, newspapers, and blogs, I see a lot of recipes. Culinary inspiration is everywhere.  In fact, it’s hard to escape.  We mark pages and jot down ingredients, and sometimes it turns into dinner.  But most of the time, all of those exciting new recipes languish in the recipe box while we eat meatloaf. 

coconut milk and basilWhich is why I’m amazed when a recipe goes viral.  Without a blog post or a blurb in a magazine, or a mention by a celebrity chef, a dish can take off.  A happy accident at a dinner party turns into a shared recipe served at a dozen more dinner parties, and that dozen begets a hundred.  You get the idea. 

My step dad’s peanut sauce is one of those recipes, famous with family and friends – and friends of friends of friends.  I told you all about Chuck’s peanut sauce a few months ago (check out the recipe here). It’s awesome as a dip, fantastic tossed with soba noodles, and great on grilled shrimp.  And it makes an amazing Spicy Thai Chicken Pizza. 

peanut sauce on pizza This pizza is really all about the sauce – and the grill.  Crisp, slightly charred crust and rich, spicy sauce make for a serious crowd pleaser.  The idea here is to use just enough cheese for texture, and just enough onions to cut through the richness of the cheese and sauce.  The chicken adds to the heartiness of the pizza, but you could leave it off, or better yet, replace it with some grilled shrimp if you like. I love the delicate sweetness of purple basil for the garnish, but any variety of fresh basil will do here.  Or go for cilantro instead, if you have that in the fridge. 

This is one of Jeff’s favorite football-watching snacks.  And if you were ambitious, you could even turn this pizza into tailgate fare.  I’d probably make the peanut sauce in advance and just grill the chicken and the pizza on the spot.

thai chicken pizza

Spicy Thai Chicken Pizza

Serves 4-6

2 cups Peanut Sauce (see recipe here)

1 pound fresh pizza dough

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 boneless skinless chicken breast

1/4 pound thinly sliced provolone cheese

1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

Divide the dough in half.  Roll out each half to between 1/4 and 1/8 inch thickness.  (You can make one big pizza, but it will be harder to flip the dough)

Preheat and grease the grill. Grill the chicken, basting twice with 1/4 cup peanut sauce, until no longer pink inside. Slice the chicken.

Brush a bit of oil on one side of each crust and transfer, oil side down, to the grill. Cook 5 minutes, brush remaining oil on other side of each one, and flip. Quickly spread the remaining sauce on the cooked side of the crust, top with chicken, onions and cheese, close the grill and cook until the cheese melts, about 5 minutes more. Remove from heat, sprinkle with basil, slice and serve.

A version of this pizza landed me a spot in the Cavit Wine’s Gourmet Pizza Classic Finals.  Chick here to check it out.

Published in: on October 10, 2010 at 7:54 pm  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/spicy-thai-chicken-pizza/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t believe I missed that sauce- it looks fabulous! This pizza looks yummy too- thanks!

  2. This looks totally delicious!

  3. Between the fact that this is THAI and includes PEANUT sauce…I’m basically in love. I might just eat a whole pie of this by myself. No sharing it with the football-watchers in my life. 😛

    Congrats on making it to the finals!

  4. What’s tailgate? Something to do with football I presume…I always thought it was following too close the car in front! Looks like a lovely pizza – Thai being one of my top 2 cuisines ^_^

    • Haha, ok, you are right! It is following too close. It’s also the name for that flap in a truck bed that flips down. Which is why we Americans also call the pre-game picnic in the parking lot (usually football game) by the same name – because you pretty much end up cooking out of the back of your car or truck.

  5. I just discovered how amazing grilled pizza can me!! ive never had a thai pizza but a fusion of the two greatest foods has to be delicious!

  6. Katie looks great.
    Do you have a pizza dough recipe you use for this or store brand?

    • Kathy, I usually use a ball of store-bought dough. But when I feel like making my own, I go for this simple recipe:

      1 tsp active dry yeast
      2/3 cup warm water
      2 cups flour
      1 tsp salt
      1 tsp olive oil

      Sprinkle the yeast over the water, let stand 2 minutes, then stir. Add in the flour and salt and stir to form the dough. Turn out on a well floured surface and knead at least 5-10 minutes until elastic. Use the oil to grease a bowl, place dough in bowl, turn to coat, and let rise to double its size. After about an hour, the dough will have risen. Just punch it down a bit, divide, and roll.

  7. Sounds delicious!
    I’m a big peanut sauce fan!

  8. Oh my, Katie, this sounds divine!! So many of my favorite things in a pizza. Delicious!! 🙂

  9. This looks great! I’m making it next gameday!

  10. Looks great! I espicall love the peanut sauce! makes a wonderful combinattion with everything elsse.

  11. YUM. I could DRINK peanut sauce–easily! On pizza sounds even better!

  12. I have always loved peanut sauce in satays; this recipe is wonderful and fairly easy and chock-ful of straight flavors; I have never used it on pizza and the idea sounds brilliant, especially grilled with these onions! I cant wait ti try this to my kids delight when I get to Dallas and my beloved BBQ grill!

  13. This looks awesome! I love the idea of eating it during football…my husband would too I am sure 🙂

  14. This reminds me of something that they would have at California Pizza Kitchen. Looks so so so good!

  15. Like that Thai-infused ingredients on your pizza 🙂

  16. I just love grilled pizza!
    The peanut sauce sounds awesome, no wonder why it went viral.

  17. This is oh so good Katie – WONDERFUL and aromatic flavors. Perfect for a week night!

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    PS – I think I will throw on some beansprouts on mine 🙂

  18. This looks great…i *think* this is the first time I’ve run across your little site…I like it 🙂
    love,
    Cathy B. @ brightbakes

  19. This is such a creative pizza! It sounds insanely good. I’m crazy for peanut sauce! I could drink it.

  20. Wow! I am thoroughly impressed by this grilled pizza! Very nicely done! I luuuurrrvveee thai food, so this combination seriously does it for me. I think my husband would go nuts as well…nuts! That might make an excellent topping here as well! Sounds weird, but it might just work!

  21. This looks so delish! I love Thai flavors, I might just add some green chilies on it too because I love spicy food! 🙂

  22. I can see why you placed in the finals with this creative pizza—congratulations!
    I will have to try that peanut sauce soon, and I still have some Thai basil growing in the garden—thanks for sharing, Katie

  23. […] talked about grilling pizza before, last year when we made this Spicy Thai Chicken Pizza and I’m as big a fan now as I was then.  The crust becomes both crisp and chewy, slightly […]


Leave a Reply

