In the Moment: Poblano Goat Cheese Quesadillas with Corn Relish

quesadilla

It’s probably been 10 years since I spoke to my college roommate. We didn’t live well together and we weren’t really even friends.  But sometimes life  (or student residential services) puts people in your path for a reason.  Jess had an uncanny ability to ignore the future.  Were a meteor expected to hit the earth tomorrow, a really fantastic cup of coffee would make her happy right now. Falling leaves fascinated her, despite midterms looming in the morning. I, on the other hand, am a planner – a neurotic dreamer who struggles to live in the moment.

But there is something about eating with the seasons, enjoying the freshest flavors, that helps, just a little bit, to keep me in the here and now.  It’s hard to think about my dream house when I’m shucking corn in my current kitchen.  And we’ve had some fantastic corn this season.  So I’ve been trying out new recipes, keeping myself grounded in this day, this moment, this meal.

grilled corn and grilled quesadillas

I love simple steamed corn smeared with butter, but this year I’ve been all about the grill.  Charred bits of summer sweetness make this corn relish outstanding.  And if you have never made quesadillas on the grill, do it now!  More flavor and less grease, what’s not to love about that?

Poblano Goat Cheese Quesadillas with Corn Relish

Serves 4

2 poblano peppers

2 ears corn

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoon chopped fresh basil

2 tablespoons minced red onion

1 small avocado, diced

salt and pepper to taste

8 whole wheat tortillas

5 ounces goat cheese

1 cup shredded Monterey jack cheese

1/4 cup diced tomato

Preheat a gas or charcoal grill.  Roast the peppers over a direct flame until blistered on all sides. Remove from the heat, place in a bowl, and cover.  Set aside.

Meanwhile, remove the silky fibers from the corn and replace the husks.  Grill the corn in the husks until slightly charred.  Remove and set aside until cool enough to handle. Cut the kernels from the cobs and place in a bowl.  Toss the corn with the vinegar, oil, basil, onion and avocado. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Peel, seed and dice the poblanos.  To make the quesadillas, place four tortillas on the grill.  Quickly sprinkle evenly with the two cheeses, the tomato, and the diced poblanos.  Top with the remaining four tortillas and close the grill.  Cook just one minute until the cheese melts, and then carefully flip the quesadillas.  Cook until browned on the bottom, remove and slice into quarters.  Serve with the relish.

Published in: on July 25, 2010 at 6:30 pm  Comments (27)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/in-the-moment-poblano-goat-cheese-quesadillas-with-corn-relish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been wanting to have some folks over for dinner and this sounds like the perfect meal. And I picked up a few ears of corn at the farmers market this weekend. Can’t wait to try it out 🙂

  2. I love corn prepared at any style…used to eat lots of them that were simply poached in the water.
    You are a foodie with philosophical nature.. 🙂

  3. I love trying new recipes, too! I am glad this turned out well.

  4. I love goat cheese in quesadillas! That sounds incredible.

  5. I’m all over that corn relish! I’ve been using corn in every which way now that it’s in season, so I’m happy to have another option to try. Sounds fantastic. 🙂

  6. The relish is just fabulous, Cozy. 🙂 So delicious and summery! 🙂

  7. Katie…everything looks delish.
    I do however, have to admit that corn relish is a new concept to me…so thanks for bringing this to my attention ;o)

    Have a fabulous week and flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

    • This is kind of an unorthodox corn relish. I often find the jarred version – with pimentos and lots of sugar – a bit too much sweetness for me. But yes, in general, good corn relish is super yummy!

  8. Great post! I adore poblanos…and goat cheese. This sounds like a fantastic dish!

  9. sounds great

  10. This sounds so perfect. I’ve never made quesadillas on the grill, and I’m not sure why I haven’t! Also, grilling corn in the husks is on my list to try this summer. Great post!

  11. Goat cheese and poblanos make a wonderful combination. Love your corn relish as well!

    • Agrred – love goat chese and poblanso… next on my list to try is poblanso stuffed with goat cheese!

  12. I never made quesadillas on the grill! I love the combo of flavors in these! And all that smoky flavor from the grill – delicious!

  13. This whole meal looks great!

  14. quesadillas with goat cheese sounds amazing, would never think of using this kind of cheese, but this combo does look really good.
    beautiful corn relish!

  15. I’ve never had quesdillas. Looks like something I would definitely want to try. Fresh corn…. love it!
    Magda

  16. It’s interesting how you find inspiration in the most unlikely of places…isn’t it nice to know that your roommate rubbed off on you in some way? These quesadillas look delicious! I love the fresh, seasonal filling.

  17. Yumm! If i find the delicious poblano, my favorite pepper, I will make this! What a great sandwich for anytime, lunch or dinner.

  18. This looks so good! I’ve never had a quesadilla quite like this one.

  19. I like your recipe for quesadillas on the grill (corn has been so sweet in Tennessee, too!) but what I like even more is your inspiration from that long ago roommate–being in the moment is a challenge, but a wonderful way to savor life.

  20. I absolutely love quesadillas. I was just thinking to myself yesterday, what wouldn’t I do for a poblano pepper. I can never find them here. 😦

    Gorgeous recipe

  21. I love quessadillas and this sounds like an awesome filling! Perfect for corn season!

  22. Perfect Katie – How brilliant to use grilled corn with poblanos and make a relish no less. The use of goat cheese is well is 5 star!

    Wonderful recipe for the season and living in the present 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  23. Grilled corn is the best and this relish looks fabulous. Can’t wait to give it a try!

  24. Oh how I love quesadillas!!! There was a time in college where all I would eat was quesadillas lol… But definitely no this fancy and good 😉

  25. I adore corn and this looks delicious. Would you like to link it up to My Meatless Mondays? I think, people will love this recipe.

    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2010/08/my-meatless-mondays-brown-rice-salad.html


Leave a Reply

