Girl Food: Strawberry, Balsamic, Goat Cheese Bruschetta

strawberry balsamic jam bruschetta

I think Jeff secretly loves when I go out of town.  Oh, sure, he calls to tell me he misses me, and he says the house is too quiet.  But he gets to hog the tv remote, crank up the air conditioning, and order Domino’s pizza. What’s not to love about that?  When I’m not around, Jeff dives into the foods I eschew – greasy take-out, Doritos, candy bars.  And I bet he’s not alone among husbands in his wife-free habits. 

balsamic bruschettastrawberry balsamic goat cheese

Of course, I indulge myself when Jeff is away, too.  My indulgences are just a little different…  no football or Snickers for me.  No, I go all-out girl.  Facial masks and whiney chick music and pretty, luxurious food.  Tea sandwiches and macerated fruit salads, and gorgeous strawberry, balsamic, and goat cheese bruschetta.

fruit bruschettaI had made the strawberry balsamic jam a few weeks ago, when our CSA share was bursting with red berries.  I’ve been spreading it on everything from English muffins to ham sandwiches, but this is by far my favorite way to enjoy the jam. Tangy, creamy goat cheese and rich, sweet strawberry jam with fresh, aromatic basil.  Perfection. These little gems would be a great brunch hors d’oeuvre, or a perfect light lunch with a salad.  They’d make awesome picnic fare, or a book-club treat, or even a midnight snack.  Basically, they are just yummy.  Anytime.  Particularly when your goat-cheese hating husband is out of town.

Strawberry, Balsamic, Goat Cheese Bruschetta

makes about 2 dozen

2 cups hulled strawberries

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 small baguette

5 ounces soft goat cheese

pinch of salt

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

In a heavy bottomed saucepan, mash the berries slightly.  Add the sugar and vinegar and simmer on low heat about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until thick.  Cool to room temperature.

Cut the bread on a diagonal into 1/2 inch thick slices and toast the bread lightly in the toaster oven.  Spread the toasts with the goat cheese and sprinkle with salt.  Spoon the strawberry balsamic jam over the goat cheese and top with the basil.  Serve immediately.

berries

Published in: on July 18, 2010 at 7:03 am  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/girl-food-strawberry-balsamic-goat-cheese-bruschetta/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

38 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. All men are the same! my husband saves the dominos coupons and orders pizza when I am away with “ground beef” which I call “dog food.”

    I’m right up your alley, love girly retreats and love your Bruschetta! Sweet and savory flavors are my favorite!

    • Haha, so funny that our husbands do the same thing. We have a drawer full of coupons just waiting for me to get on an airplane to somewhere else!

  2. I have a piece or two of this. It looks fabulously delicious. I love the strawberry and goat cheese combo. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  3. I have a piece or two of this. It looks fabulously delicious. I love the strawberry and goat cheese combo. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. I’d have this for breakfast any time…so fresh and colorful ;o)

    My Hubby would probably go feast at his Mother’s table ;o)…thankfully it’s not junk food!

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  5. I can so relate to this. My boyfriend is a saint, gobbling up every veggie dish I concoct… but it takes him about 2 seconds to order steak and ask for extra bread and butter when we go out for a nice restaurant meal. These bruschettas look amazing! I love the strawberry-cheese-basil combo. I think I still have some chevre in the fridge, I’ll make these soon!

    love your blog, so glad I found it on Fresh365!

    xoxo
    Kelsey, at Happyolks

    • Thanks for stopping by Kelsey. So funny about your boyfriend ordering steak… but at least he eats the veggies at home!

  6. What a delicious combo of flavors! Love the sweet with the tangy. I could definitely eat these any time!

  7. Gorgeous! My husband plays lots of poker and watches way too much ESPN when I go out of town!

  8. Funny almost (if not all) all the men love big fat food, and the women are keen on treating themselves with some light meals. Is there any scientific explanation? My man just can’t stand cheese..he calls them “rotten milk”…
    I love your brucshtta with seasonal berries atop!
    Angie

  9. This looks so yummy. Your husband is missing out 🙂

  10. Popped in to say hi! Those sound lovely!

  11. Those pictures are so gorgeous I can almost taste the berries!

  12. I’m obsessed with strawberries and balsamic these days…SO good! But never thought of adding the goat cheese – this is such a great idea…can’t wait to try this!

  13. I absolutely ADORE this, Katie!!! 🙂 Yowsers! I’m planning a girlie day for me and my sis-in-law and I am absolutely making this. It’s BEAUTIFUL!! 🙂

    • If you make it, let me know how it turns out!

  14. These look wonderful! Lucky for me, my boyfriend enjoys many of the same foods. If there’s cheese involved, we’re all over it. I have a feeling I’ll be trying out this recipe in the very near future.

  15. Gotta love girls night in food! I love strawberry and balsamic together…these would make for an addictive bruschetta!

  16. This would be a good panini, I think…

  17. What a great recipe. Summery and colorful and indeed girly!
    Magda

  18. Dear Katie – Girl food and anytime food all rolled in one! What’s not to love? A treat, dessert and carbs all rolled into one 🙂

    Goat cheese and strawberries are a wonderful combination.

    Hugs, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. An original combination! Those bruschette sound and look fantastic.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  20. your goat cheese bruschetta sound wonderful!! I bet they were so good! But I do love football and pizza!

  21. oh those gorgeous looking Bruschetta. I wish I could eat them right now.

  22. I can relate! It is sure nice to have a husband but having your own space is great too; I love the way you indulge! I could not imagine doing it the way man do it with Doritos, oh no!! This way is so much more satisfying and so much tastier!

  23. A husband who doesn’t like goat cheese? A shame! It’s nice to have something you can look forward to when he’s gone–lovely bruschetta and, of course, his return.

  24. Those bruschette look fantastic.

  25. Oh how a adore girl food! This looks incredible! I am so trying this bruschetta and I’m not even waiting for my husband to leave town. ;D

  26. I love love strawberries and goat cheese….love love love

    sweetlife

  27. Just foud out your blog! Great combination of ingredients… and who doesn’t like bruschettas yummy stuff.

  28. Georgous & tasty looking bruschetta’s!!

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,…A lovely blog you have too!

    Many greetings from Brussels, Belgium!

  29. You eschew Doritos? Sacre Bleu! Say it isn’t so!

    Well, if you send me one of those pretty little toasts, I’ll forgive you for your lack of Dorito Love. They look fabulous!

    btw: I just now noticed your RSS feed at the bottom of your blog! You might want to think about moving it to the top or putting it in a different font or something so it’s more noticeable? I’m sure there are others like me who’ve been missing out!

    • Thank you for the tip – I just moved it up a bit and I hope it will be easier to see!

  30. Simple but completely divine! I love this recipe.
    Have a wonderful weekend ahead.
    *kisses* HH

  31. I love this post because it’s so true of the differences between men and women. It’s all good, isn’t it! I love the simple preparation, and the big flavors. Perfect for a girls night!

  32. Lovely…great combination of flavors! I must try putting some balsamic vinegar into my strawberry sauce.

    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

  33. It is the same with my husband. When I am not not with him (fore example, I visit Poland) I can only imagine how he enjoys pouring two glasses of olive oil into his pasta with tomatoes, eating 2 chocolate bars per day three baguettes and a lot of roasted red meat!
    Strawberry and balsamic go incredibly well together (I did some salad not so long time ago). But the strawberry season is finished here !

  34. Lovely bruschetta! My hubby would probably like this but wouldn’t admit it. 🙂 I made balsamic strawberry jam for the first time this spring and loved it. Paired with the goat cheese I bet it’s even better! Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

