Healthy Hash for Brunch

sausage has and fried egg

For the longest time I thought I didn’t like breakfast hash.  Greasy corned beef and squishy potatoes, what was to like?  And why waste the calories on a pile of mush when I could have a fluffy omelet or a big stack of blueberry pancakes?  But back when I was spending my days in the kitchen of a bed and breakfast, dozens of guests asked for corned beef hash.  With that much interest, I figured there had to be something to this ugly dish.  And after a few dozen tries, I figured out the trick: crispy potatoes.  For me, texture was key, and in addition to making the potatoes crisp, I opted to shred the corned beef by hand instead of pulverizing it in the food processor. Nicely browned potato bits, and rich, salty corned beef topped with perfect fried eggs made for a fantastic (and anything-but-mushy) breakfast.

chicken sausage with peppers and onionsOf course, crispy potatoes meant fried potatoes, and all of that corned beef brought with it loads of salt and fat. So while I occasionally served corned beef hash and eggs, I rarely ate it.  In fact, I haven’t had hash and eggs in years.  But last week I went out to brunch with my cousin Laurie and saw it on the menu.  Laurie and I shared a decadent crab cake, and a lovely order of potato pancakes with apples, but all week long I’ve been dreaming about that plate of hash and eggs. 

colored eggs rhode island red chickenMy usual hash included deep-fried potato bits and a big hunk of corned beef.  Starting the day with that much fat was not exactly appealing when I set out to make brunch this morning.  And I didn’t have a big old corned beef just hanging out in the fridge. So I decided to experiment.  And I love when an experiment works out!  Instead of frying the potatoes, I tossed them in a bit of oil and roasted them until brown and crisp.  And in place of the corned beef, I went for some red bell peppers and a link of Italian chicken sausage.  Topped off with an egg fried in just a bit of cooking spray, and it was not just lighter, but actually more flavorful than the typical corned beef version. Yum!

egg yolk and healthy breakfast hash

Italian Chicken Sausage Hash and Eggs

Serves 2

2 cups diced potatoes (skin on is fine)

2 teaspoons olive oil

cooking spray

1/4 cup diced onion

1/2 cup diced red bell pepper

salt

1/4  teaspoon dried basil

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

1 link (2-3 ounces) Italian chicken sausage, uncooked

2 eggs

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Toss the potatoes with the oil and spread on a rimmed baking sheet greased prepared with cooking spray.  Roast until browned, about 20 minutes, turning once.  Meanwhile, saute the onion and pepper in cooking spray.  Add salt and herbs and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Squeeze the sausage from the casing into the pan, and break up with a spoon.  Cook until the sausage is browned. 

Coat a nonstick pan with cooking spray and heat over medium heat.  Crack two eggs into the pan and fry to desired doneness. Remove the potatoes from the oven and sprinkle with salt.  Toss the potatoes with the sausage mixture. Mound the hash on two plates and top each with a fried egg.

italian chicken sausage breakfast hash

Published in: on June 6, 2010 at 11:45 am  Comments (33)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/healthy-hash-for-brunch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This looks wonderful. I need a good hash recipe for my files. I really love the color of your eggs. That is a great photo. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

    • Thanks Mary! I know… colored eggs are so pretty! I love them. I get fresh eggs with my CSA share and they are beautiful.

  2. I like that you roasted potatoes instead. I know how you feel with the experiment and when it works out. I wanted to yell out loud “YES” 🙂

    • Haha… I did actually jump up and down a bit when I tasted the hash. My husband laughed at me, but it’s so exciting when a kitchen experiment works!

  3. Dear Katie – Thanks for this healthier version so all of us can now get our hash & eggs fix. Yummy indeed! Love the chicken sausage and I could eat a plate now 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  4. It’s funny that for all the years I ran my own Bed and Breakfast…not once was this type of breakfast asked of me. Neither did I ever think of making such a flavoured dish such as this one. Yes, I do agree about the great healthier modification you’ve made.
    This will make for a very tasty and hearthy Sunday brunch ;o)
    Thanks for sharing your ideas and flavourful wishes, Claudia

  5. It goes to show that sometimes it is worth pushing the breakfast boundaries I am putting away the pancake batter and giving these a go instead!

  6. Katie

    I love your version; I would think that eating fried potatoes is not so bad if one eats a reasonable amount; I just love fried potatoes, especially fried in BUTTER!

  7. this looks like my today’s brunch, minus the sausage… 🙂

  8. I love hearty breakfasts. This sounds like something my hubby and I would try on the weekend.

  9. Oh, I adore hash…but I cant stand mushy soggy ones. I like them crispy, like you! Have you tried sweet potato hash though? Those are lovely.

    • You know… I don’t think I have. But it sounds wonderful!

  10. I love brunch! This looks filling and delicious! Perfect for a brunch! 😉

  11. This sounds very satisfying and delicious!

  12. I like the individual ingredients of hash but I don’t like the greasiness either. This version is totally one I could get behind though! Excellent!

  13. Nice work -this recipe looks great!

  14. I used to make corned beef hash for my husband. He adored it. I did not.
    BUT….I am loving your hash recipe with chicken sausage!

  15. Love this idea. I love corned beef has and crispy, fried potatoes, but the enjoyment last only as long as I am eating. I hate the lethargic heavy stomach feeling afterwards. I think this will be making an appearance for brunch or dinner as I have the terrible habit of not eating cooked breakfasts.

  16. I could wake up to that. Fantastic job!

    Cheers!

  17. Popped in to say hi! That sounds delicious!

  18. I HAVE to make this for my honey…he would LOVE. Well, I would too, but he loves his bfast potatoes 🙂

  19. Great pictures, and I love the idea of using sausage to make a hash.

  20. you know I have never eaten hash, really? it looks amazing..hubby would love this..

    sweetlife

  21. What a great experiment and it turned out well. Nice way to cut down on the fat.

  22. Hello Katie…it’s me again.

    I was lately given something to think about…which led to me to create an APPRECIATION page.
    I just wanted you to be informed that you have been included among those who I feel have so far supported me in a somewhat life changing journey.
    When you have a chance…come for another small visit on FOODESSA.
    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  23. Hi Katie,
    I have found that I can get crisper potatoes by oven roasting, and it uses less oil.
    Great job taking a heavy dish and making it lighter, healthier without sacrificing the flavor.

  24. Nice! I love homemade hash. This recipe looks mighty tasty! We have a restaurant in town called Hash, they make awesome hash too! 😉

  25. When I was a kid I loved it but haven’t had it with corned beef in ages. I usually use Canadian back bacon which is a niuce alternative to delicious corned beef.

    • What a great idea! I’ve never used Canadian back bacon. Thanks!

  26. What a delicious brunch idea. I’ve never made hash, that is something that needs to change!
    *kisses* HH

  27. I love how you made this recipe lighter!! Kudos!

  28. I love hash of all sorts, kind of my dirty little breakfast secret. This looks great too and sounds like something that I won’t have to sneak in while the rest of the house is asleep.

  29. […] Italian Chicken Sausage Hash and Eggs […]


Leave a Reply

