Sangria and a Swap

apricot peach sangria

I hate eating at the mall.  Not that there is really anything wrong with greasy pizza or milkshakes (I kind of love greasy pizza and milkshakes).  But trying on skinny jeans after eating said greasy pizza?  Not fun.

mini frittatas and stuffed mushroomsWhich is why I was thrilled by the hors d’oeuvre spread at our clothing swap over the weekend.  We cleaned out our closets, arranged our wares in pretty piles or hung them on rack like a real store, and went to town.  My friend Diana, our host, even made a make-shift dressing room complete with full length mirror.  And with all those clothes to try on (and the lack of air conditioning), it’s a good thing that Diana stipulated that all food and drink be light and refreshing. 

white sangriaOur spread was lovely.  Mini frittatas, couscous stuffed mushrooms, beautiful veggies, fruits, and cheeses. And, of course, white Sangria.  This is certainly not a traditional Sangria.  But it is fruity and subtle and  perfect for a hot day. In my opinion, it goes with everything.  It’s probably not authentic enough to go with a great paella, but it would be lovely with kebabs at a BBQ, or perfect with salmon tartines at a picnic, or even yummy with some nachos in front of the TV. 

The fruit mixture will keep in the refrigerator for a few days, but once you add the wine and seltzer, be sure to serve right away.

White ‘Sangria’

Serves 8-10

1 apple, peeled and thinly sliced

1 peach, thinly sliced

2 fresh apricots, thinly sliced

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup apricot brandy

12 ounces (about 1/2 bottle) crisp, dry white wine, chilled

1 liter (1 bottle) lemon flavored seltzer, chilled

Mix the sliced fruit with the sugar and brandy and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or up to two days.  When ready to serve, add the fruit mixture, wine, and seltzer in a pitcher.  Add ice if desired, and serve immediately

white sangria

Published in: on May 24, 2010 at 7:13 pm  Comments (34)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/sangria-and-a-swap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

34 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh I love this sangria, great recipe…skinny jeans, oh no, never,..haha

    sweetlife

  2. the Sangria was tasty and food was excelent

  3. Sangria sounds wonderful. I’ll be giving that a try pdq. A clothing swap is such a great idea – I’m not sure that anyone would be interested in the antiques from the 80’s in my closet! “What Not To Wear” would have a blast. LOL

    • You’d be surprised! One woman’s trash is another woman’s treasure. Someone even took my turquoise fishnet stockings. Seriously.

  4. Ohhh, the white sangria looks wonderful!! Very refreshing indeed. 🙂

  5. I have never heard of white sangria but the idea thrills me to no end! How light too, to go with the light appetizers!

  6. white sangria is my favorite summertime drink! a clothing swap is the best idea!! what a fun girly event 🙂

  7. I love sangria – thanks for the recipe!

    Looking forward to hearing how the dark chocolate frosting works out for you. My town has an elevation of over 6000 ft. so I’m always curious to see how the recipes turn out for people in other parts of the country. 🙂

  8. really is there anything more light and summery than Sangria? Just like a glass of sunshine and cheer! Much better than the mall

  9. White sangria is my favorite!!! I like the addition of apricots and apricot brandy! Sounds delicious!

    • Thanks Sommer. I adore apricots, and they are in season… but I have also been thining about trying it with cherries and kirsch. Gotta love cherries!

  10. What a lovely wine. It looks and sounds delicious. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  11. I REALLY want to try having a clothing swap – it sounds perfect for my budget and wardrobe needs! 🙂

  12. My husband’s family adores sangria! I should share this recipe with them!!

  13. What a beautiful, refreshing looking drink.
    I totally know what you mean about pigging out and then trying to stuff your fat self into a gorgeous outfit, thats why i do the eating AFTER the clothes 😉
    *kisses* HH

    • Smart. Very smart. Note to self: try on clothes THEN stuff my face!

  14. I have to say that I have never been a fan of sangria (nor skinny jeans!!!) but this recipe seems really delicious! Perfect for a hot Summer BBQ!

  15. I’ve never been to a clothing swap. It sounds like a lot of fun, especially if there’s sangria involved.

  16. Hors DOOOVERS! Every time I think of them, I think of Homer saying that. And that’s a good thing ;P
    I just read a book about how destructive the fash industry is so good on you for doing a swap – fun *and* eco-friendly.

  17. I need some white sangria in my life soon! Love the addition of apricot brandy!

  18. What delicious eats! And the clothing swap sounds fun!

  19. I’ve never tasted white sangria. It looks fabulous! A clothing swap would be really fun I think! 😉

  20. sangria, That is exactly what I need right now. Such a simple recipe but that looks so good. That is my drink for Memorial day BBQ. Thanks Katie

  21. While vacationing in Mallorca, Spain…a very typical bad touristy day had fallen upon Hubby and I. A memory for sure!!! Most endearing, was a Sangria similar to yours that was graciously carried out to our room terrace by the lovely inn keeper.
    At least, our day did not end as it had begun.
    Thanks for stirring up that memory for me ;o)
    I will have to take your recipe for our splendid summers with friends and family.
    It was great of you to have stopped by…much appreciated.
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  22. Oh I am always looking for some cool cocktails to serve, this is a great idea…and I hate to eat at the mall too 🙂

  23. Hi Katie–I really like White Sangria—a delightful change-up from the traditional. It shows off the fruit too. This looks like a terrific recipe. What a fun and clever idea–the clothes swap party!

  24. Roberto’s father has his own version of Sangria (Italian-style). He takes ripe peaches (skin on), pits them, halves them, and squashes them into a tall water glass. He then tops this mass of mashed peaches with homemade red wine. It’s pretty good and makes for a light dessert once the wine has been consumed. Of course, I had forgotten about this up until now (funny how a bad winter can mangle ones brain). You have inspired. We will no doubt be mashing fruit into tall water glasses this Memorial Day. Thanks!

  25. The sangria looks absolutely refreshing for a summer or spring afternoon. Cool recipe and thanks for stopping by our blog.

  26. What a lovely refreshing sangria!

  27. A clothing swap is a great idea! Even more fun with sangria!

  28. Ahhh! I have SUCH a weakness for white sangria! Looks fabulous!

  29. Nice sounding Sangria, will definitely make this for the next BBQ 🙂 We’re getting the heat and humidity a little earlier than usual so this will be perfect.

  30. Mmm makes you want to bring back cocktail hour doesn’t it! Yum

  31. Sangria sounds (and looks) so refreshing! I love clothing swaps, so much so that I started an online clothing swap on Facebook (the name is suzieswapper)! Swaps can be done in your pj’s (with or without the greasy pizza & milkshakes, lol!) You should check it out!


Leave a Reply

