Nutty Goat Cheese Chocolate Truffles

chocolate truffles

My mom calls me the Queen of the Slapdash.  It was a nickname that I earned way back in middle school and it stuck. I’m not a details kind of gal, and if you look up antonyms for meticulous, you’ll probably find ‘Katie’.

goat cheese choolate trufflesSadly, my culinary style is much the same as my middle school homework style.  I don’t take actual short cuts (canned frosting and t.v. dinners are not my thing), but I do love to pass off a seriously easy recipe as a feat of magnificent proportions. I had long been terrified of candy, chocolate, and confections in general because attention to detail is key when a matter of one or two degrees can mean the difference between buttery caramel and a beeping smoke alarm. But over the past year I’ve tackled my fears, and found that not all confections have to be so difficult to make.

Not that you shouldn’t tell everyone that these lovely truffles took days of incredible patience to prepare.  People will believe you.  They are that good.  And they are adorable enough to qualify for a fake-out.  These beautiful chocolate wonders are a great hostess gift for that friend who invites you for dinner but refuses to let you bring anything. 

nutty goat cheese chocolate trufflesThey key to ease here is making sure that your goat cheese is softened before you start – you don’t want lumpy ganache.  And, of course, use great chocolate.  I went for Callebaut, but take my advice and splurge on the best you can find. The marriage of chocolate and goat cheese is surprisingly mild and just a bit mysterious.  I neglected to mention to Jeff that the ganache was made with goat cheese (he hates goat cheese – sometimes I just don’t understand how we ended up together).  He munched away, enjoying the creamy texture and “that something, what is that something?” which I refused to divulge. I love the almond flavor with the tang of the goat cheese, but you could certainly go for hazelnut instead, which would be wonderful and earthy. 

I submitted the recipe for these lovely truffles to the Ile de France Cheese Recipe Contest.  Go vote for my truffles here! (scroll down to find the nutty goat cheese chocolate truffles recipe)

 truffles

Nutty Goat Cheese Truffles

Makes about 2 dozen truffles

4 ounces goat cheese

8 ounces dark chocolate, chopped and divided

2 tablespoons almond liqueur

1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted and finely chopped

Bring the goat cheese to room temperature. Melt half of the chocolate on low power in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds (or over a double boiler). Adding a the chocolate to the cheese just a spoonful at a time, stir together the goat cheese and the melted chocolate until very smooth. Use the back of a spoon to work the goat cheese into the chocolate. Mix the almond liqueur into the chocolate mixture. Chill one hour. Remove from the refrigerator and scoop into balls. Roll the scooped truffles in your hands to make them perfectly round. Put the chopped almonds on a flat plate. Melt the remaining chocolate. Coat each truffle with a small amount of chocolate (the best way to do this is by dipping a large spoon in the chocolate and then rolling the truffle in the spoon). Quickly transfer each coated truffle to the nuts and roll to coat. Chill at least 30 minutes. Remove the truffles from the refrigerator 15 minutes before serving. They will keep in the refrigerator for 3-4 days in an airtight container.

Published in: on May 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm  Comments (35)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/nutty-goat-cheese-chocolate-truffles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

35 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. goat cheese, dark chocolate, liquer and almonds….oh what a combo..i’m drooling..off to vote

    sweetlife

  2. Goat cheese and chocolate? I’m in. Will vote for sure.

    Nisrine

  3. Voted!

  4. I can’t even bake a successful cake due to my lack of interest in following recipes precisely, so Truffles really sound impossible! But they look delicious…and I’ve got a goat cheese hater too!

    • I promise – these are WAY easier than cake. I have cake issues too (all that precise measuring gets me) and I am a truffle girl all the way!

  5. Katie, great idea. I love goat cheese and dark chocolate. I want to make these NOW…but I can’t, I’m at work. Argh! However, I will go vote.

  6. I have to tell you….this recipe sounds really delicious, very unusual….
    I voted….and keep my fingers crossed….
    🙂

  7. I am very curious about the goat cheese and chocolate, Never even thought of a close combination of this, they do look incredibly delicious!

  8. these truffles look so good and what an unusual mixture of ingredients.

  9. nuh uh – this is like the best looking dessert combo ever! WOW! Are you going to start selling these?! 🙂

    • Haha! Maybe I should – but if people ever found out how easy they are to make I’d be out of business!

  10. Oh wow, cozy, I LOVE THIS!!! What a creative way to use goat cheese. Oh girl, I am absolutely inspired. Yum! YUM!!! 🙂

  11. oh wow these look amazing thanks so much for stopping by my blog

    have a fun weekend

    Rebecca

  12. Gosh they look sooo good! The recipe is so simple too.

  13. I hope you win, I voted. In my books chocolate tastes good with just about anything and I’m sure the flavors blended beautifully.

    • Thanks Nadia! I totally agree… chocolate and just about anything goes together!

  14. I love goat cheese. I really love chocolate. The combo of the 2 in truffle form is something that I have got to try! Wow they are beautiful! Thanks for the great recipe!

  15. i think i’m pretty much your polar opposite–i’m sure my name would be found as a synonym for perfectionist. 🙂
    meanwhile, i’m not the biggest fan of goat cheese myself, but if you snuck it by jeff, maybe i could handle it too. there IS a lot of chocolate involved–that would definitely soften the blow. 🙂

  16. These sound fantastic! I will be trying these soon!

  17. yum! these look great… who would have ever though of goat cheese and chocolate… im so intrigued!

  18. These look great and your photos do too! Trying something different? Off to vote 🙂

  19. Oh my goodness I am drooling.

  20. I was drooling when I read the title! That sounds so delicious!

  21. i can just imagine how silky smooth and creamy these must be! such a great idea to use goat cheese!

  22. I haven’t ever tasted chocolate and goat cheese together. These looks so rich and delicious. I can imagine it would be hard to stop eating them! 😉

  23. What an incredibly delicious and unusual combination. I’d love some, pass the plate over here daaaaaahling.
    *kisses* HH

  24. Never in a million years would I have thought to combine these two flavors but this is going into my must make stack!

  25. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I adore sweet n savory things like this… love the idea of the goat cheese paired with chocolate! yum!

  26. Wow! Goat cheese and chocolate what a combo! I am trying these and I will vote also. Nice blog, too.

  27. These sound incredible! I’ve never had goat cheese and chocolate but I imagine the combination would be divine!

  28. I do love goat cheese…so, why not within chocolate truffles…I’m sure the nuts won’t mind;o)
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  29. What incredible sounding truffles! I’ve never made my own because I thought it was complicated, but your recipe sounds really straight forward. I love dark chocolate and almonds… the addition of goat cheese makes me really curious, curious enough to make these just to see how it tastes with chocolate 🙂

  30. amazing. straight up.

  31. these look yum-olicous! i love goat cheese and chocolate. i recently made goat cheese brownies….

  32. […] Nutty Goat Cheese Chocolate Truffles […]


Leave a Reply

