Peach Oat Muffins for Mother’s Day

low fat muffin

Our favorite Sunday brunch spot closed when I was 14 or 15.  Those were the days before my brother appreciated good eats.  He always just ordered hash browns.  But Mom and I had discovered a gem; The Cajun Benedict.  A  cheesy flatbread pita topped with crisp fried green tomatoes, spicy andouille sausage, poached eggs, and Hollandaise sauce.  Seriously, truly amazing – and more than enough to share.  Even split, it was probably enough calories for a week. 

old-fashioned oatsThe year the place closed was the first Mother’s Day that Evan and I made Cajun Benedict.  Our fried green tomatoes were a bit soggy and our attempt at poached eggs a bit overcooked, but Mom didn’t care. She was thrilled.  We even made hash browns, although we had finally convinced Evan that eggs were, in fact, edible. And it became our tradition; every year we make Cajun Benedict for Mother’s Day (and then don’t eat for the next week).

peach oat muffinsBut this year, when we finally get to celebrate Mothers Day (next week, but better late than never, right?) I’m not sure that Cajun Benedict is in the cards.  You see, I’m so, so very proud of my mom.  She has lost 20 pounds this year.  And would it really be fair for me to whip up the heart-attack on a plate that we usually devour?  The temptation to eat the whole thing would be intense.  I suppose that we could try to ‘healthify’ our Cajun Benedict, but honestly, some things are sacred.  I don’t believe in healthy croissants and I don’t believe in healthy Cajun Benedict.

So, instead, I think we’ll go for these lovely muffins.  My Mom adores anything involving peaches.  With plenty of homemade jam (Moms love jam), whipped cream cheese, and a big fruit salad, our Peach Oat Muffins will be a wonderful Mother’s Day breakfast.  Maybe we’ll even go for some turkey sausage too. 

These muffins are best eaten fully cooled as the peach bits make them a bit too delicate when they are warm. I used old-fashioned oats, but I do think that quick-cook oats would work just fine. 

Peach Oat Muffins

Makes 1 dozen (or 3 dozen mini muffins)

1 cup oats

1/2 cup plain low-fat yogurt

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup applesauce

2 eggs, beaten

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

11/2 cups diced peaches (fresh or frozen)

2 tablespoons turbinado sugar

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Stir together the oats, yogurt, milk, sugar, applesauce, and eggs until very well combined.  Sift together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Stir the flour mixture into the oat mixture to combine. Fold in the peaches.  Spoon into a greased muffin tin and sprinkle tops with turbinado sugar.  Bake about 20 minutes, until brown (if you choose to make mini muffins, reduce baking time).

low fat muffins

Published in: on May 8, 2010 at 5:57 pm  Comments (29)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/peach-oat-muffins-for-mothers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

29 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. peach oat muffins how tasty..good for your mom 20pds–awesome..I’m sure she will love them

    sweetlife

  2. Great one. Thanks K. The muffins sound great but perhaps not comparable to the Cajun Benedict. Those were good times!! Thanks for being so considerate about The Great Diet! Love you.

  3. Nice one! And wow, 20 pounds, great job, congratulations Cozy’s mom 🙂

  4. the cajun benedict sounds amazing!! since i did just discovered the beauty of poached eggs and hollandaise sauce Im sure i will get to this version of it very soon…but you’re absolutely right that it is packed with more fat than should be legal. these muffins are a much more reasonable option and sound like they will make a delicious mothers day brunch!

    • Yes, nothing like poached eggs and hollondaise… so much silky richness. And while the Cajun Benedict should totally be outlawed, if you do try it, let me know!

  5. Made them this afternoon. I wasn’t with my mom, but they met my and my roommates approval. Maybe i can follow in Ava’s footsteps and take off 20 lbs of my own. Nice start with something relatively healthy and yummy!

    • So glad you made them and they turned out well!

  6. YUM! Those muffins look delicious!

    As far as Indian spices -I bought “Balti seasonings” from Penzi Spice (you can order online) and it was just a few dollars and now I don’t need to buy separate seasonings for an Indian dish!

  7. The muffins sound fabulous! I love that you’ve made a healthier version for mom! I’m tagging this for sure.

  8. So scrumptious and such a great gift for your mom 🙂

  9. Sounds like a fantastic treat for a fantastic mamma. Happy Mother’s Day!

  10. Peaches make anything taste good! Looks like you made the right choice for your celebration brunch.

  11. i agree, some things are never meant to be “healthified”! but i appreciate these healthy muffins. i don’t think to put peaches in muffins, but why not? they sound tender and delicious!

    • I love peaches in all kinds of baked goods… the flavor is mild but they add great texture and just a little bit of sweetness. Yum!

  12. peach oat muffins….sounds so delicious and healthy, too. I love using wholewheat flour in baking.

  13. So wonderful that you support your mom like that! Everyone needs someone like you!

  14. Wow. Lucky mother. I’m practically drooling.

  15. I was just looking at my muffin tins today thinking I haven’t made muffins in so long. These look really good. So nice of you to make them for your mom. Props to her for losing 20 pounds! 🙂

  16. These look fantastic. I love peaches. Now I want to make some peach muffins too 🙂
    I hope you had a great mother’s day.
    *kisses* HH

  17. These look tasty, but I have to say a Cajun Benedict with fried green tomatoes sounds like best idea ever. I just added it to the list of things to make this summer!

    • I know… it’s amazing. I’ve realized that I now need to post the Cajun Benedict recipe! Which, of course, means I get to make it for myself!!!

  18. This is a thoughtful muffin in support and celebration for her healthy lifestyle. They look and sound absolutely delicious!

  19. They look so moist. I’ll bet they’re delicious! Very nice.

  20. I love anything with peaches and oats! So this recipe looks awesome. Warm muffins with butter are one of my favorite things!

  21. Peach Muffins with oats, what could be better. Nice blog you have. I will be back to check out future posts!

  22. Just made the muffins again. This time peach-mango. Yummy!

  23. What a wonderful mother’s day treat. I like that you used applesauce instead of butter. I do that a lot in my baking. Have a good weekend.

  24. […] Peach Oat Muffins […]

  25. having trouble printing the recipes for brunch….


Leave a Reply

