Perfection is Rare

grilled baby lamb chops

I’m rarely satisfied.  Good steak? The béarnaise sauce could have been more flavorful.  Great muffin? Could have had more blueberries.  Excellent Chardonnay?  Didn’t quite work with the herbed goat cheese.

lamb chopI alway have ideas for improvement (and so does Jeff), so I never seem to make the exact same recipe twice.  Because it can always be better, right?  Well, almost.  Every so often, once in a blue moon, a meal just works.  And it’s perfection. Last night was one of those rare, perfect nights, and it was totally unplanned.  We had a rack of baby lamb chops in the freezer, a bit of generic garlicky grill rub hiding in the back of the cabinet. and a few spears of asparagus that just needed to be used up.  Add a couple wedges of grilled pita, a dollop of tzaziki and it was a meal – ready in less than 30 minutes – that I will not rejigger.  Ever. 

lamb chopAnd the best part was the wine.  I rarely talk about wine pairings here, but it’s something that we, Jeff especially, give quite a lot of thought. Jeff’s pretty unorthodox when it comes to matching wine and food.  I’m a bit more rule bound, and advocated for La Noble Merlot last night.  But Jeff insisted on the Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc (I know, white wine with lamb chops?  sometimes it’s not worth the argument).  And, as it turned out, he was so, so very right.  The mineral undertones cut right through the rich, fatty lamb, and the floral notes worked beautifully with the asparagus.  You can imagine the “I told you so” refrain that erupted in the kitchen.

So, make these lamb chops.  Today.  Well, maybe not today since it’s raining.  But soon. Very, very soon.  They are so easy, and so fabulous – perfect food for entertaining.  And while they look tiny, they are rich.  You don’t need more than 3-4 little chops per person.  If you want to grill asparagus along side, just toss them with a bit of olive oil and salt and thow them on a hot fire for a few minutes. And for those of you who are courageous, give that Sauvignon Blanc thing a try, If you do, let me know how it goes!

grilled baby lamb chops

Simple Grilled Baby Lamb Chops

serves 2-3

1 rack baby lamb chops (8 chops, trimmed and frenched)

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons grill rub

2 teaspoons kosher salt

Preheat a gas grill to high.  Rub the lamb evenly on both sides with oil, grill rub, and salt.  Grill the lamb over direct heat, turning to sear each side, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat, cover grill and cook about 8 minutes each side for medium rare.  If needed, wrap the bones in aluminum foil to prevent burning. Let the lamb rest for a minute or two before cutting into individual chops.

Published in: on April 25, 2010 at 9:45 am  Comments (26)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/04/25/perfection-is-rare/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That would be my idea of a perfect meal too! You just made me realize I needed to go get some lamb chops asap!

  2. oh my those chope are pure pure perfection..

    sweetlife

  3. This does look perfect! I love the wine pairing as well. Definitely want to try this.

  4. Those look like some tender, delicious little chops! My husband is a sucker for them! I’m trying this soon.

  5. Ahhhh, I love lamb! Need to make soon! I like hearing about the wine pairings too!

    • I’m so glad! I think I’ll have to do some more wine pairings posts soon.

  6. Your chops look perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious!
    I have to agree, I love a crisp white with lamb, especially if the sun is shining and there is a BBQ in full swing.
    Thanks for stopping by

    • It’s true, there is something about the grill, and the crisp white wine… totally wonderful!

  7. those look really good and I’m not a lamb eater! My husband would die though if I made these… thanks for sharing! and thanks for the update on the tomatoes!

  8. Beautiful, I love lamb chops, my absolute favorite and with grilled asparagus I am in heaven. As for the wind choice I’m with you I would stick to the heartier reds

  9. I rarely eat meat, but I can never refuse lamb chops especially with some good wine, usually save this dish for special occasions…but after reading your post I think I just might create one 😉

    • I love eating special occasion food on non-special occasions! It makes it more special and more fun. Lamb chops are good, but the best is pulling out a bottle of great champagne for no reason at all!

  10. I’ve never made lamb before, or any sort. I think after reading this I might have to give it a try. It looks so easy and yummy. I think it might be a fun evening with the boyfriend 🙂

    • Do it! Men like grilling. And it’s so, so yummy. Although I gotta say, gnawing on a hunk of lamb bone may not be the most romantic image! haha

  11. These lamb chops do look perfect-deliicous. Wow! Cheers to you that a good white wine with these amazing chops too.

  12. I am always daunted by cooking a rack of lamb, you made it look simple! Looks delicious and medium rare, just the way I like it.

  13. Simply delicious! I agree in that I am rarely satisfied with a dish, there is always something that could be done differently, at least in my estimation. It’s wonderful when it all comes together like it did for this meal!

  14. Hi there,

    I have left you an award, so please check out my post http://wp.me/pSeU2-Hj Congrats!

    Gwen

  15. Hello hello!
    Lamb is one of my favorite meat – I can eat it in summer, winter, for lunch and for dinner. Living in France and having a very good butcher nearby, I can enjoy it often. And we prefer little “cutlets” (is the name correct?) in daily cooking, because they are easy and quick to prepare, and simply delicious.
    Unfortunately, lamb meat is very rare in Poland, the country where I was born and spend 30 years of my life. The easiest to buy is lamb meat from…New Zealand. Quite strange…
    Look very tasty.

    • You know, we get quite a bit of our lamb here from New Zealand as well. There are some good local farms, but still, most of what I see in restaurants is from New Zealand. In any case, quick-cooking cutlets sound like a great idea! I do wish that I had a good local butcher too!

  16. These look so delicious. I’ll be looking for some lovely lamb.

  17. I love those moments when you realize that you’re eating a perfect meal. On the other hand, I am an inveterate tinkerer too, so repeating the perfect meal can be elusive…

    Great post. I’m looking forward to reading back through some of your older posts, too!

  18. Where do you get your lamb? Our local grocer has a horrible selection of meat and I’ve been considering seeking a local farmer at the farmers market.

    • You’ll never believe where these lamb chops were from… Costco! Seriously. And they were good. I have never bought meat there but my parents brought them over. Something to think about I guess!

      • I might have to check Costco out! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

