I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You About This Meatloaf

stuffed meatloaf

I meant to tell you all about this the very first time I made it.  But somehow I just never got around to it.  And that’s a shame.  Because this meatloaf is fantastic.  Beyond fantastic. 

stuffed meatloafMy mom made meatloaf, with ketchup and plenty of garlic powder, and I loved it in the same way I occasionally still crave macaroni and cheese from a box.  But trust me, this is NOT your mother’s meatloaf. This is fancy meatloaf you could serve to company, although I don’t know why you would since it’s so much more fun to eat it all yourself.  Of course it’s still simple and easy, and goes great with oven-baked fries.  It is  meatloaf, afterall. If you’ve never made stuffed meatloaf, the juicy interior will surprise you.  Sweet roasted peppers and gooey cheese keep the  meatloaf wonderfully moist from the inside.  You could certainly replace the peppers with roasted tomatoes and the provolone with Roquefort, or even use roasted peaches and camembert for a decadent twist.  I use ground turkey because I think that the mild flavor allows the peppers, cheese and basil to shine, but you could choose ground beef, or even veal if you like.

how to make stuffed meatloaf

Stuffed Meatloaf

Serves 4

1 pound ground turkey

2 eggs, beaten

3/4 cup fresh bread crumbs

3 cloves garlic, minced

8 ounces canned tomato sauce, divided

salt and pepper

1/2 cup chopped roasted red bell peppers

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves

1/4 cup shredded sharp provolone

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix together the ground turkey, eggs, bread crumbs, garlic, and one quarter of the tomato sauce.  Add salt and pepper and mix well.  Spread the meat mixture in a square on a piece of foil.  Arrange the peppers, basil and cheese down the center of the square, stopping an inch from each end.  Using the foil to help lift, roll the meat mixture around the filling and pinch the ends to form a loaf.  Transfer the meatloaf to a greased rimmed baking sheet.  Spread the remaining sauce over the top of the meatloaf, and sprinkle with additional salt and pepper.  Bake about 45 minutes until fully cooked through.

Published in: on April 4, 2010 at 7:08 pm  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/ive-been-meaning-to-tell-you-about-this-meatloaf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE this recipe and can’t wait to make it. Maybe even tomorrow. Thanks

  2. Did you ever think maybe you missed your calling? I think you could serve most of these recipes in a restaurant, and make good money on them. Great job with the photos too by the way.

    • Thanks K! And yes, sadly, I probably did miss my calling. But you never know… they say the average person has 7 careers in her lifetime now, right? So we’ll see!

  3. I love your enthusiasm for this meatloaf. And the fries look great too!

  4. Not a single word would be acceptable here. This is ab.sol.ute.ly fan-freaking-tastic!! I’m sorry but I’m really really in love with this recipe. I just adore meatloaf, I’d even say it’s one of my all time favorite meals, so this is right up my alley! You managed to create something unique, delicious, and gourmet! Excellent job, my friend. I’m filing this recipe!

    • Haha! Thanks Andrea! I have to say that I wasn’t much of a meatloaf fanatic until I discovered the whole stuffed meatloaf thing. So if you already love meatloaf, well, yeah, pure bliss!

  5. omg meatloaf is like one of my ALL TIME favorite foods… talk about mama’s comfort food cooking this is at the TOP OF THE LIST… i can go through like 3 servings of meatloaf in a meal… ohhh tasty memories… i am so having meatloaf for dinner. now ill be thinkin about it all day!

  6. What a fantastic recipe! Love the stuffed meatloaf and with such fresh goodies.

    What a lovely meal for any day of the week.

    Yumm…I’ll keep you posted once I fix this!

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  7. Love the sound of this!

  8. Your meatloaf looks amazing. I love the addition of provolone. Delicious!

    Have a great evening!

    Nisrine

  9. i’m a sucker for meatloaf. never thought to stuff it, though. what a great way to keep it moist! i might try a mediterranean version with feta, sundried tom, and kalamatas. thanks for the inspiration!

    • Oooh, feta, sundried tomato and olives sounds wonderful! If you do try it let me know how it turns out!

  10. stuffed meatloaf oh my mamma…delish..hubby would swoon..

    swetllife

  11. ive never made meatloaf before but i really like that this uses turkey. the peppers add some great color and this seems like such a well balanced meal!

  12. Wow, this does look quite fancy. I like normal, boring meatloaf and this one looks wayyyy better. Super excited to try it.

  13. wow, i’ve never seen a stuffed meatloaf before! you just took meatloaf to a whole new level. (a fancy one). looks like it tastes delicious, too.

  14. I love meatloafs, but I have never tried this kind you present here. They look very tasty…do you think I can use chicken or other meat, as I do not like turkey?

    • Sure Magdalena! Ground chicken would be great, as would ground beef I think.

  15. thanks! I will try firstly with ground chicken!

  16. You made me laugh with your ” why serve it to others when you could eat it all yourself!: Agreed! Love that meatloaf, love meatloaf in general and this one is a guilt free one to boot! Thanks!

  17. Oh my goodness, Cozy! What fabulous fillings! Meatloaf is such wonderful comfort food and makes me happy. 🙂

  18. Ground meat is mince right? Honestly, it’s all so confusing – the “biscuits” in your roast chicken disaster are not the same thing as what I’d call biscuits either ;P

    • Yes, I think so! Basically meat chopped up very, very small. And your comment about biscuits is so funny. Can you imagine eating roast chicken with your kind of biscuits? haha!

  19. I made this last night and it was fantastic. I added some sauteed onions and worcestershire to the turkey and substituted a different sauce for the top, but it was moist and tender. Thanks!!!

    • So glad you enjoyed it! I love the idea of onions and worcestershire. I might have to try that!


Leave a Reply

