Gotta Love Granola

cranberry walnut granola

I adore Bear Naked granola.  Crunchy, flavorful, and chock full of fiber.  Did your insides ever just feel good after eating something?  I think it’s purely psychological.  I met the founder of Bear Naked once – a tall blond, athletic, godess-like granola chick (who also happened to be quite personable, actually).  Somewhere deep down I think I fooled myself into believing that if I eat enough of her granola I’ll grow six inches, sprout blond locks, and exchange cellulite for muscle. 

granolaEating Bear Naked does satisfy one of my goals for the new year; eating healthy, whole foods that make me feel good.  But it contradicts the other, which is to spend less money  Especially on groceries.  I can go a year without buying new lipstick or shoes, but I most certainly make up for it with extravagant food purchases.  So lately, I’ve given up buying granola and started making my own.  It’s not quite Bear Naked – and it never will be since I happen to know that they have special oats grown just for their granola – but it’s pretty darn good.  I wrote about the ease of granola-making for my column in this month’s Dedham Transcript. The best thing about making your own granola is really the ability to customize.  You can add anything or exchange anything and it still works.  I published a basic cranberry walnut granola recipe in the newspaper (follow the link above to check it out), but if you’re a bit more adventurous, play around, go nuts, or feel free to try this Moroccan inspired version.

granola

Sesame Cardamom Granola

Serves 6-8

2 cups rolled oats

¼ cup wheat bran

1/8 cup bulgur

2 tablespoons light brown sugar

¾ teaspoon salt, divided

1/2 teaspoon cardamom

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons canola oil

¼ cup shelled pistachios, unsalted

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

¼ cup chopped dried Medjool dates

1 tablespoon orange zest

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl mix together the oats, wheat bran, bulgur, brown sugar, ½ teaspoon salt, and spices. Put the honey in a microwave safe bowl and heat on high for 20 seconds until warmed and fluid. Add the honey to the oat mixture and stir well to combine. Add the oil and stir again. Coarsely chop the nuts and stir in to the oat mixture along with the sesame seeds. Spread the granola out on a greased baking sheet. Bake 20-25 minutes until slightly browned. Remove from the oven, sprinkle with remaining salt, and let cool (granola will crisp as it cools). Break up the granola and stir in the dates and orange zest.

Published in: on January 18, 2010 at 8:49 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/124/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I LOVE Bear Naked and I love the story of the history of their company! I think they would love to have something like this in their repertoire! Great flavors, great idea!

    • Thanks Teanna! Isn’t the Bear Naked story great? Very inspiring. I’m totally on a cardamom kick! I love it!

  2. I think sesame and cardamom in granola is a genius idea!!!

  3. Wow LOVE the addition of sesame seeds and cardamom to this granola! I’m a complete granola addict and am always adding new things to my basic recipe – MUST try this one…it sounds delicious!!

  4. Oh yum! I do love granola and haven’t made my own in ages. You may just inspire me! 🙂

  5. Mmm, Bear Naked is great (although they only have a few flavors without honey)- Not too sweet, and pretty wholesome. Love having a homemade option that’s similar, thanks for sharing!

  6. I made granola bars this morning and they turned out great, I was surprised.


Leave a Reply

