Gourmet Unbound: All-Year Blueberry Corn Muffins

Who doesn't love blueberry muffins?

Since I’ve been housebound by the snow all day (ok, housebound by my lack of desire to dig out my car), I have managed to get about a million chores done.  I even cleaned out the freezer, and in doing so found a bunch of blueberries that we had picked from my parents’ yard in RI in August.  Something about summer berries during the first snow of the winter seemed just right to me.

A bit of summer from the back of the freezer.

These muffins, adapted from Gourmet magazine’s December 1992 issue, are lovely and simple – just like so many of Gourmet’s recipes.  They have a great crumbly texture, and just enough sweetness.  Whether featuring the basics or something more complicated, the folks at Gourmet never forgot that cooking is a pleasure for all of the senses. Although I am certainly still mourning the loss of Gourmet, I, and many others, prefer to do so with abundance and celebration.  At Gourmet Unbound you’ll find posts about recipes from this month, every month, throughout the history of Gourmet, in a tribute to culinary tradition.

I have loved Gourmet since the summer I was 21 years old and an intern at the RI Community Food Bank.  Sara Moulton (the executive chef at Gourmet for 25 years) was the keynote speaker at a spectacular fundraising gala at the end of the summer.  She was so understated, yet so inspiring in her conviction that all people should have access to fresh, healthy, delicious food. 

All-Year Blueberry Corn Muffins (adapted from Gourmet December 1992)

Makes 10 muffins (per Gourmet, it makes 12, but I only got 10)

1 cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1/4 cup melted butter, cooled (the original recipe called for oil, but I went for butter)

1 cup corn meal

1 cup flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

11/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon (this is my addition – I always love cinnamon in blueberry muffins)

2 cups frozen blueberries (the magazine called for 12 oz, which is probably slightly less than 2 cups)

2 tbsp turbinado sugar (also my addition)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a muffin pan very well, or line the cups with muffin papers.  Wisk the buttermilk, eggs, and melted butter together in a medium bowl. Stir in the sugar.  In a large bowl, sift together the corn meal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Add the blueberries and toss to coat (this will help prevent the blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the muffins).  Stir the buttermilk mixture into the cornmeal mixture just until the dry ingredients are moist.  Don’t overmix.  Spoon the batter into the muffin tins and sprinkle the tops with the sugar to create a crunchy crust.  Bake 25-30 minutes until slightly brown.

Avoid overmixing or the muffins will turn blue.

These muffins are, in my opinion, best when served with a bit of maple butter.  Just stir 1 part real maple syrup into 2 parts soft whipped butter.  With this lovely spread, the muffins remind me of the blueberry corn pancakes my step father makes in the summer, when we have more blueberries than we can handle.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/gourmet-unbound-all-year-blueberry-corn-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. *Sigh* I wish I had access to someone’s blueberry bushes!
    I bet those muffins are amazing- I love cornmeal in baked goods! It was actually the secret ingredient in my Thanksgiving apple pie crust!

    • Ooooh, that sounds like such a great idea for apple pie crust! I bet it had awesome texture.

  2. I have so many blueberries. I am going to make this tonight!

  3. […] find myself with a hankering for summer sweetness.  I’ve been known to bake up a batch of blueberry corn muffins in a blizzard, and always keep a pint of strawberry ice cream in the freezer for snow […]


Leave a Reply

