Poached Pears and The Cookie Monster

This time of year, in between holiday feasting and party noshing, I occasionally get the urge for light, simple food. A soft-boiled egg at breakfast, a baked potato topped a sprinkle of Gorgonzola and chives for dinner.

But, with my ever-present sweet tooth and frequent desire to munch, holiday cookies call to me. And since I bought two adorable snowmen cookie tins, I feel the need to keep them full, and therefore have found myself baking constantly. And Jeff is of no help! No matter how beautifully a batch turns out, my resident critic tells me that the cookies could be lighter, or chewier, or softer, or sweeter, or more fragrant, or more chocolaty. So, of course, I bake more! And then I eat more.

But earlier this week, I decided that I had to halt the cookie cycle before it gets out of hand. I needed a replacement – something healthy, but so lovely and tempting that it would trump my cookie hankering. I remembered my grandmother (who also had quite a sweet tooth but later-in-life became very diet conscious) poaching fruit to satisfy her dessert cravings. She would poach just about anything, top it with a bit of vanilla yogurt, a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, and call it a sundae.

Pears Poaching With Plenty Of Orange Zest

So I peeled a few pears, dropped them into some simmering simple syrup with a cinnamon stick and some orange zest, and 30 minutes later, my cookie crisis was solved! These pears are so luscious, comforting, and sweet that I am content to leave those snickerdoodles packed away tightly in their tin. And my grandmother was on to something – they are actually quite wonderful topped with a dollop of thick Greek yogurt, a drizzle of honey, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. You could, of course, use any flavorings you like in your poaching liquid – vanilla beans are always welcome, as is star anise or cardamom. But I happened to have cinnamon and orange, so that is what I used.

So Sweet And Simple!

The best part is that these pears keep in the refrigerator for days, so any time I have a sweet craving I can dish out a pear and dig in – no guilt necessary. And if you find that you have too many leftover, these pears are wonderful chopped up in a baby spinach salad with some toasted almonds and balsamic vinaigrette.

Cinnamon Orange Poached Pears

Serves 6

4 pears

6 cups water

2 cups sugar

1 cinnamon stick

the zest of 1 orange

Peel the pears and gently slice in half and remove the cores with a melon-baller. Bring the water, sugar, cinnamon and orange zest to a simmer in a large pot, stirring occasionally. Slide the pears into the liquid and cook, simmering, for about 30 minutes, until very tender. Remove the pears with a slotted spoon and serve hot or chilled with a drizzle of poaching liquid, if you like.

Published in: on December 2, 2009 at 8:01 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cozydelicious.wordpress.com/2009/12/02/poached-pears-and-the-cookie-monster/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I prefer the cookies

  2. You have actually made me want to eat pears. They’re not my favourite fruit but I’d eat these if you made them for me!

    • Thanks Ivonne! I’m so glad I could make you excited about pears. They really are delish.


Leave a Reply

